Skip to content

Nanaimo’s curlers showed their shot-making abilities this season

Thorpe Report rounds up Nanaimo Curling Centre’s winning teams
The Canadian Stick Curling Championships were a highlight of the season at the Nanaimo Curling Centre. (News Bulletin file photo)


Another curling season is now in the books and year-end awards have been given out.

It was a very much a bounce-back season for the Nanaimo Curling Centre. Participation in club bonspiels increased and a highlight of the season was the successful hosting of the Canadian Stick Curling Championships.

The final club bonspiel of the season was the Spring Fling Spiel, with an organizing committee led by Janice Ainsworth. In the competitive division, sponsored by Johnston, Franklin, Bishop Lawyers, A event winners were skip Mike Kenefick along with Teri Palynchuk, Bob Palynchuk and Elaine Cloutier. Runners-up were Mary Ellen Konyer, Brendon Plamondon, Paul Konyer and Moira Ryan. In the B event, the winning team consisted of April Gale-Seixeiro, Toni Ethier, Irene Goodis and Graciete Martins Folster. Claiming second place were Gary Noble, Alina Abbott, Dale Abbott and Linda Nobel.

In the senior division, Steve Seixeiro, Wayne McFarlane, Neil McFarlane and Colleen Leslie were tops in the A event, ahead of skip Marg Obee and her teammates Noreen Martin, Sharon Stonehouse, Jill McGlenen and Moyra Graham. Winning the B event was Dianne Smith and her team of Diana Baker, Michelle Plamondon and Eleanor Voysey. Runners-up were Ron Kulai, Chuck Rogerson, Kathleen Hewitt and Ron Chisholm. A recreational division saw Ron Schwartz, Orest Myronuk, Dale Kysniuk and Lorna Schwartz win A event. Second place went to Tony Steel, Chris Parker, John Bomhoff and Ron Membery. Tops in B event were Mike Carson, Shawn Syring, Etsuko Carson and Monique Syring, with second place going to Joel Knox, Lucas Mullin and Jacob Soles.

Turning to year-end awards, the Tuesday Ladies’ League this season was won by skip Teri Palynchuk and her team of Donna Gannon, Jodi Crawford, Jan Stromar and Kari Negrin. Second in total points came Capri Koster, Noreen Martin, Judy Gallacher and April Mathers.

From the Thursday Afternoon Ladies’ League, first overall aggregate sponsored by Cottonwood Golf Course, went to the championship team of Lorraine Jeffries, Heather Lindsay-Lecuyer, E.T. Mitton and Ruth Thorpe. Second overall, sponsored by P&P Plumbing, went to Mary Ellen Konyer and teammates Lorna Black, Kellie Rice and Alina Abbott. The Tuesday Business League, sponsored by Baker Supply Ltd., was won by Teri Palynchuk, Janice Stromar, Donna Gannon, Kari Negrin and Jodi Crawford. Second overall, sponsored by Shannon Frith Realty, went to skip Capri Koster and her team of Judy Gallacher, Noreen Martin and April Mathers. In a special presentation, the Frankie Shaw Honour Roll Award for outstanding contributions to the club was presented to Mary Ellen Konyer.

From the NCC men’s leagues this year, Paul Konyer sends word that the Tuesday Night League overall winning team was that of Steve Waatainen, Keith Clarke, Darrell Knowles, Greg Norby and Glenn Waatainen. Runners-up were Ross Barnard, Davi Kuss, Sean Krepps and Brett Edwards. Thursday Night League was won by the team of Bob Cavezza, Louis Cavezza, Tom Weinreich and Paul Merkel. In second place was the foursome of Ron Thompson, Kyle Habkirk, Gary Toombs and Aric Thompson. The men’s club championship title went to the Waatainen team, with the Cavezza foursome the runners-up.

Muir Meredith reports that the Senior Men’s awards night saw the Royal LePage Trophy presented to Bob Franklin, Muir Meredith, Ed Stonehouse and Andre Lemieux. The Joe Boudot Trophy went to Darryl Graham, Nick Rvachew, George Schofield and Wayne Sutherland. Winners of the Christenson Collision Trophy were Brian Scorer, Eric McKean, Jim Reynolds and Peter Danehower and the Livewire Catering Trophy, given in honour of Harry and Jessie Whittam, was presented to Rick Kerley, Jim Bond, Jimmy Patrick and Tom Hedekar. Outgoing senior men’s president Dennis Shupe was awarded the President’s Shield.

A reminder to club members that the Nanaimo Curling Centre’sannual general meeting will be held June 14, starting at 7 p.m.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter