NEWS BULLETIN file photo

Nanaimo minor baseball players had home-run results

Thorpe Report: Boys of Summer have now packed up their gear for another season


The Boys of Summer have now packed up their gear for another season, but not before providing some great entertainment at both the professional and local levels.

For the pros, the season ended with the Boston Red Sox dominating the Los Angeles Dodgers in five games to win the World Series, with former Blue Jay Steve Pearce named as Series MVP. It was the fourth series title in the past 15 years for the Sox.

Things were also successful for Nanaimo Minor Baseball Association teams this past season. NMBA president Mike Holyk sends word that five local teams competed at provincials, and three female players were selected as Team B.C. members.

At the mosquito (born 2007-08) age level, the Nanaimo A Pirates attended provincials in Cloverdale where they finished 2-2 for the tournament. Coaches were Mike Peters and Brent Murcheson, and the team manager was Nicole McRae. On the roster were players Brody Murcheson, Madden Peters, Jackson Peters, Tyler McWhinnie, Kalem Chatlain, Noah Robertson, Carter Robertson, Lincoln Sinclair, Max Lillyman, Cas Schulsun, Graden Reinhard, and Landen Ross.

In the same age group, Nanaimo’s Mosquito AAA Pirates qualified for provincials in Chilliwack where they finished fourth overall with a 3-3 record. On the field were players Rylan Clark, Lachlan Barnard, Elijah Pankosz, Reed Sutton, Hunter Hein, Zeke Gilmore, Joe Madill, Maz Poirier, Holden West, Noah Drew, Ashton Wolfe, Evan Slater, and Max Rowe. Coaches for the team were Lee Clark, Darcy Sutton, and Ehren Madill.

Peewee (born 2005-06) competition this season saw the Nanaimo A Pirates advance to provincials in Richmond and post a 2-2 record. Colin Borrelli and Thomas Leaf coached the team, manager was Lisa Howell, and players were Liam Gordon, Quentin Fraser, Nolan Galloway, Emmitt Giesbrecht, Ben Clouthier, Ryder Howell, Arron Boulding, Liam Nowlan, Evan Young, Marcus Evans, Shawn Horne, and Dominic Holmstrup.

Nanaimo also sent two teams to provincials from the bantam (born 2003-04) age group. One local squad hosted the B.C. Baseball Bantam A West provincials and posted a 1-3 record. Coaches were Noah Banman, Nic Williams, and Grant Marriott, and players were Payton Maxwell, Nathan Maley, Sam Davidson, Bobby McKenzie, Jackson Marriott, Skylar Dunstan, Markus Anicieto, Sota Uehara, Cobe Coss, Cam Boudrot, Brady Allen, and Layton Munro.

Coaches Nick Salahub, Liam Goodall, and George Rounis guided the bantam AAA Pirates to the provincial tournament held in Chilliwack, having qualified by winning a wildcard tournament. Players on the team were Nikos Rounis, Mason Nordli, Trevor Carter, Connor Roshinsky, Alden Holzwarth, Wyatt Widmeyer, Adam Lorentan, Cole Dunn, Conner Dawson, Ethan Aston, and Jaden Mah.

Congratulations also go to female players Grace Gonyer, Celia Leaf, and Isabella Bortolotto. Gonyer was selected to Team B.C. to play in the U14 Girls’ Western Canadian Championships in Spruce Grove, Alta., where the team won a gold medal. Bortolotto was named to the Team B.C. U16 team to play at nationals in Bedford, N.S. Leaf was also chosen to Team B.C. U16, as well as to the U21 prospects team which competed at Nationals in Montreal, where she won a silver medal.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Just Posted

Beefs & Bouquets, Sept. 19

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail

Nanaimo Art Gallery exhibit explores German faux First Nations subculture

Artist Krista Belle Stewart shows photos, videos and items from east German ‘Indianers’

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Keep voicing opposition to pipeline expansion

If we risk our land we are all going to regret it, says letter writer

Multiple arrests made at Tour de Rock jail-and-bail fundraiser in Nanaimo

Suspects make bail in support of Cops for Cancer Tour de Rock on Wednesday at Woodgrove Centre

Third instance of Trudeau in skin-darkening makeup emerges

Another instance of Trudeau using makeup to darken his face has emerged, within 24 hours of the first

Nanaimo Search and Rescue to build a long-term base in Harewood

Group will sign 25-year co-management agreement for Fourth Street rec centre

Tim Hortons dropping Beyond Meat products from menus except in B.C. and Ontario

Beyond Meat burgers dropped nationally, but breakfast sandwiches still available in B.C. and Ontario

Revelstoke RCMP seize $1.9 million from ‘erratic’ driver

The driver and passenger were detained under the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act

Yearbook photo surfaces of Trudeau wearing ‘brownface’ costume in 2001

The report describes the occasion as an ‘Arabian Nights’-themed gala event

‘Troubling, insulting’: NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh reacts to Trudeau’s brownface photo

Jagmeet Singh, leader of the New Democrats, responded with a call for love after Trudeau photos surface

Elderly B.C. man gets 10 years in prison for sexually abusing young daughters

WARNING: This story contains graphic details and is not appropriate for all readers

‘This is not a drill’: Whistler Blackcomb gets first snowfall of the season

The 7th Heaven Summit had a dusting of snow Tuesday morning

Most Read