Skip to content

Nanaimo curling exec wins Curl B.C. leadership award

Teri Palynchuk receives Janette Robbins Award
Curl B.C. chairperson Teri Palynchuk is this year’s winner of the Janette Robbins Award for leadership. Palynchuk is pictured here with the Curling Canada Foundation Cup along with past chairperson Peter Muir, left, and Curl B.C. CEO Scott Braley. (Photo courtesy Curl B.C.)

A Nanaimo curling athlete and executive showed leadership during a challenging season, and her efforts were noticed.

Curl B.C. announced this past weekend that Teri Palynchuk is the winner of this year’s Janette Robbins Award for leadership in curling.

The award goes to individuals who who represent the spirit of volunteerism and show dedication, energy and commitment to developing and advancing the sport in the province, noted a press release from Curl B.C., and Palynchuk “has been a positive and reliable presence” on the board for six years.

Palynchuk said in the release that she was “extremely honoured” to win the award, which she said came as a surprise.

“We curlers give back to the sport because, quite simply, we love it,” she said. “There are so many deserving recipients for the award and I truly appreciate being recognized by my peers.”

Curl B.C. CEO Scott Braley said in the release that Palynchuk’s “calm leadership was … a huge asset to Curl B.C. as we navigated the changes that have been occurring in the competitive landscape.”

Palynchuk, who was board chairperson, will continue to contribute as past chairperson. She will also receive a Sport B.C. Presidents’ Award.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter