Minor lacrosse season gearing up

It may still be winter, but local lacrosse organizers at all levels are now busy gearing up for the spring.

It may still be winter, but local lacrosse organizers at all levels are now busy gearing up for the spring.

The Nanaimo District Lacrosse Association is busy preparing for another season of minor lacrosse. At the organization’s off-season annual general meeting, Brian Boas was returned as president, along with Brande Terris as vice-president. Also on the NDLA board are secretary Tracey Lassam and treasurer and registrar Natalie Cashmore, as well as Steve Bishop, Shane Terris, Kyle Couling, Maria Zary, Carole Ory, Joanne Bowman, Farren Ferguson and Damien Joly.

Online registration is still available, though players are encouraged to register as soon as possible so that teams and schedules can be put together in the coming weeks. Fees for the coming season have been set at $125 for mini-tyke up to $260 for midget. For female players, the fees range from $140 for novice to $200 for juniors. Registration forms and additional information are available at www.nanaimominorlacrosse.ca.

Also at the lacrosse AGM, numerous award winners were recognized from the 2014 season. Winning most inspirational awards from the peewee division were Colby Bowman, Jesse Dalziel, Dahlan Seward Noble, Amber Grais, Hunter Cook and Jayde Wassell. Most sportsmanlike players were Callum Neal, Nolen Tomiyama, Brendan Rheault, Trystan Seward, Jamie Nash and Rebecca Scrivens, while most improved were Nolan Ross, Jarud Nicholls, Dean Manson, Kaleb Harker, Jordan Edwards and Katie Terry. Most valuable players from the peewee division were Luke Ory and Olivia Ory.

In the bantam division, recognized as most inspirational players were Christian Harris, Hugh Joly, Jayden Thomas and Shayla Frinton. Most sportsmanlike awards went to Evan Soucy, Tyson Seward, Conrad Dawes and Nicole Briggs. Most improved players were Fisher Zawasky, Liam Moody, Rafe Morgan and Lauren Roberts. Chosen as most valuable players from bantam were Brayden Turnbull and Sarah Ferguson.

Turning to the midget division, most inspirational players were Kurtis Allard, Jimmy Orr and Amy Yarborough, most sportsmanlike were Graden Soucy, Justin Nicholls and MacKinna Bourque and most improved were Ryan Polywkan, Kyle Gach and Mary Dmytruk. Most valuable players were Adam Fulton and Taylor Olsen.

From the junior girls’ team, Chantel Jones was most inspirational player, Hannah Boas was most sportsmanlike and Emily Krytor the most improved, with Maddy Krassman chosen as MVP.

Other major awards presented saw Taylor Olsen named as goalie of the year and Morgan Theedom as defensive player of the year. Most sportsmanlike player overall was Wes Colach and most improved was Ben Whiting. Honoured as Lacrosse Boy was Aidan O’Dwyer. Also recognized were Larry Carter as referee of the year, Sherri Colach as manager of the year, and Toni Angell as coach of the year.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Ferry riders say lower fares are what’s most needed to improve service

Provincial government announces findings of public engagement process

COVID-19 isn’t cancelling this year’s Tour de Rock

Alumni riders will cycle relay sections in their own communities

POLL: Can B.C. hold a provincial election safely during a pandemic?

Can B.C. hold a provincial election safely during a pandemic?… Continue reading

Trail proposed to connect Cedar and Yellow Point

Regional director says project fits with active transportation goals

Woodgrove Centre posts plans to make masks and temperature checks mandatory

Mall advises in letter to customers that rules will come into effect Monday, Sept. 21

Protesters march in Nanaimo, calling for greater protection of forests and watersheds

March for the Forests happened downtown on Friday afternoon

Nanaimo residents ticketed for putting out garbage bins the night before pickup

Conservation officers say they issued seven tickets this week, as warnings weren’t having an impact

Accused in Makayla Chang’s murder sees next court date in October

Steven Michael Bacon faces first-degree murder charge in killing of Nanaimo teen

Regional District of Nanaimo looks to create its own flag

Staff created makeshift flag earlier this year for a conference that ended up getting cancelled

Nanaimo senior defrauded out of $14,000 in ‘grandson scam’

80-year-old victim was told her grandson was out-of-province and in legal trouble

VIDEO: B.C. to launch mouth-rinse COVID-19 test for kids

Test involves swishing and gargling saline in mouth and no deep-nasal swab

Conservation officers free fawn stuck in fence in Nanaimo

Fawn was uninjured after getting caught in fence in Hammond Bay area Wednesday

Beefs & Bouquets, Sept. 16

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail bulletinboard@nanaimobulletin.com

One person dead in two-vehicle accident in North Island

Highway 19A was closed for several hours north of Courtenay following the crash

Most Read