Minor hockey skates to strong season

Nanaimo Minor Hockey Association recently held its annual general meeting. Awards from the past season were presented.

It’s down to crunch time in the NHL playoffs, with the remaining teams providing some excellent entertainment these days as the professional hockey season nears its end.

Meanwhile, Nanaimo Minor Hockey Association recently held its annual general meeting. Awards from the past season were presented, a new executive installed and player registration plans for the coming year were finalized.

Recreational player awards saw the Larry McNabb Memorial Trophy for a graduating midget player presented to Scott Tyce and the Jason Gow Memorial Trophy for a graduating bantam player to Gavin Smith. Isabella Bortolotto was the top graduating peewee player, with Tristen Dean getting the award as top graduating atom player. Honoured as top graduating midget female recreational player was Sarah Heller. Other awards to top graduating female players went to Sara Spencer, Jocelin Martin and Cassandra Beutler.

From the competitive division of minor hockey, the Don Sarkasian Memorial Trophy for the top graduating player in bantam was given to Austin Dendl. Aaron Marsh from the peewee division was chosen to receive the Dick Robinson Memorial Trophy, while the Eric Kneen Memorial Trophy for the top graduating atom competitive player was Ethan Matsuo. The Bud Dumont Award for the top graduating midget player was presented to Dade Beaudry-Young.

Minor hockey coaching awards saw the Ted Holder Memorial Trophy as most valuable coach in the competitive division given to Steve Marsh. Other coaching awards went to Doug Tyce for midget; Ellis Pow, bantam; Alan Banks, peewee; Mitch Vandermast, atom; Paul Winchell, initiation; Kevin Chase, novice; and Lanny MacDonald, female division.

Rounding out the Nanaimo minor hockey awards, Mathijs von Battenburg was recipient of the Mentorship Award.  As selected by the associationís Referee Committee, Kyle Infanti was recognized as the Most Improved Official, while Lleyton Buck was chosen as Rookie Official of the Year. Honoured with the Referee of the Year award was Josh Boutin.

Re-elected at the AGM as president of NMHA for the coming year was Jamie Davis, to be assisted by registrar Christie MacDonald, secretary-treasurer Kyla Becia, and past president Roberta Bortolotto. Other directors include Cathy Coulson, Mike Sexton, Matt Caillet, Tom Russell, Yvette McKay, Jody Windley, Steve Paul and Ken Paziuk.

In charge of the initiation (age 5-6) division this season is Nicole Sugiyama-Trenholm. Shelly Tabashniuk is in charge of the novice (age 7-8) group, Angela Vanderpeear the atom (age 9-10) division, and Ken Peacock the peewee (age 11-12) category. The bantam (age 13-14) division is coordinated by Kim Darbyshire, and the midget/juvenile (age 15-20) group by Janelle Olson. Dave Boehm is head of the competitive division, and Eadie Whitford looks after the female division.

Overseeing the minor hockey office located at the Nanaimo Ice Centre is Vicky Long and my thanks to her for passing along information from the AGM. As for registration, new player sign-up was held last Saturday and will be ongoing as spaces are available. Contact the office at 250-754-5010, or visit www.hockeynanaimo.com.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.