Lacrosse players win gold

NANAIMO – We look back this week to the past season of minor lacrosse to recognize some team and individual accomplishments…

As the Nanaimo and District Lacrosse Association prepares for its annual general meeting and awards night, we look back this week to the past season of minor lacrosse to recognize some team and individual accomplishments…

By all accounts, it was another very successful season for Nanaimo minor lacrosse. For starters, this past year there were no less than seven players who competed and medalled at the national level.

Maddy Krassman, Elise Angelucci and Santana MacIntyre played on the Team B.C. junior women’s team that went undefeated and won a gold medal at the Canadian Lacrosse Association championships in Calgary. Adam Fulton and Matthew Bishop competed at midget nationals in Whitby, Ont., where they earned bronze medals. Also in Whitby were Brendan Carlson and Sean Clark who played on the B.C. peewee team that earned silver at nationals.

Minor lacrosse coaching coordinator Steve Bishop sends word that the entire local girls’ program has improved dramatically and is attracting more interest each year. This past season, peewee and bantam teams both showed great skills and qualified for provincials.

Farren Ferguson coached the bantam squad, consisting of players Sarah Ferguson, Nadia Good, Addison Battie, Jasmine Milburn, Alyssa McDonald, Robbie Robinson, Jayne Nystrom, Shanice Kobzos, Joscelin Martin, Haley Campbell, Olivia Ory, Jazmin Patenaude, Jolie Regehr, Meagan Sharpe, Sarah Dmytruk, Faryn Good, Katie Terry, Lauren Roberts, Lydia Zart, Amelia Usborne, Abby Stewart and Madison Rypma.

Meanwhile, the bantam A1 boys’ team coached by Chris Bowman just narrowly missed an Island title due to two overtime losses to Victoria.

Nanaimo’s peewee A1 team played the entire year at the highest level for the age group on the island and lower mainland with mostly first-year players and just barely missed provincials.

It was also a great season for Nanaimo’s midget A2 squad coached by Steve Bishop. The team qualified for provincials hosted in Prince George, claiming the bronze medal. Player Adam Fulton was named a first-team all-star in the tournament, while Matthew Bishop was a game MVP and Aidan Joly earned a Fair Play award. Others on the roster were Garrett Watson, Matt Vickberg, Tyler Mckay, Silas Boon, Colton Davies, Kurtis Allard, Connor Reid, Wes Cholach, Ethan Laing, Ty Salmon, Alex Oakley, Ross Manson, Will Cookman, Aidan Cateuax, Jullian Johnny and Jeevan Grewal.

Individual awards from last season will be presented at the Nanaimo and District Lacrosse Association AGM and election of the incoming board of directors will also be held. Everyone involved in minor lacrosse is invited to attend, with the meeting set for Sunday (Oct. 25) at 7 p.m. in the Bowen Park activity centre.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.