Curlers raise a glass to Hangover Bonspiel

One of the most popular bonspiels of the local season was successfully held last weekend at the Nanaimo Curling Centre.

One of the most popular bonspiels of the local season was successfully held last weekend at the Nanaimo Curling Centre.

While participation in many spiels has tapered off in recent years, the annual men’s Hangover Bonspiel still manages to attract a strong number of entries. The reason likely relates to planning and organization, together with the bonspiel’s reputation for good food and prizes, competitive curling and above all plenty of fun and fellowship.

This year was no exception, as a full field of 36 teams took part, including seven from out of town. The bonspiel was hosted by the Sunday men’s Hangover League, which this year is headed by new president Chuck Passmore. Ferdie Hobson is the past president and Tom Zacharuk the vice-president. Also on the executive is league treasurer Randy Brahnuik and my thanks to him for his help in gathering results from the three-day event.

On Sunday afternoon, the only two undefeated teams in the field met in the final of the bonspiel’s A event, which was sponsored by Midland Tools. And it was an excellent final between two evenly matched Nanaimo teams skipped by Ron Leake and Craig MacRae. Trailing 5-4 after seven ends of play, Leake tied the game in the eighth to force an extra end. In that extra frame he then managed to steal the winning point for an exciting 6-5 victory.

Backing Leake on the championship squad were third Ian Cook, second Jim Newlands and lead Lee Venables. With MacRae on the runner-up team were Louie Cavezza at third, Paul Merkel playing second and Tom Weinreich throwing lead stones.

Visiting teams skipped by Bob Arksey from Abbotsford and Craig Rampton from Vancouver claimed third and fourth spots respectively in the A event.

Sponsor for the bonspiel’s B event was Mark’s Imports and the final was an all-Nanaimo matchup. Skip Dan Allarie saw his team break things open with three points in the fourth end en route to an 8-1 decision over the Frank Smith entry. Others with Allarie were third Doug McGlenen, second Bill Shaw and lead Trevor Shaw. Smith’s teammates were Cam Foster, Keith Clarke and Rudy Brulotte.

Third place in B went to the foursome of Mike Redlick, Jon Mason, Rod Edgeworthy and Ian Tyerman, with fourth going to the Nanaimo team of Brian Scorer, George Duffell, Cliff King and Merv Osler.

The final of C event, sponsored by Christensen Collision, saw Wayne Harris and his Courtenay team edge out Nanaimo skip Tim Cullen and his team of Bruce Willgress, Ward Wiltsey and Murray Norby. With the game tied 3-3 after six ends, Harris scored two in the seventh and held Cullen to one in the eighth for a 5-4 win.

Local teams were third and fourth in C. Taking third place was skip Mike Chahley and his rink of Tony Wright, Tom Zacharuk and Kerry Lucas and in fourth spot was Mike Kenefick and his teammates Mike Pepin, Bob Palynchuk and Bill Millward.

M.J. Chahley Construction Group sponsored the D event of the competition and the final featured another exciting finish. One of the teams involved was a Courtenay entry skipped by Rock Cowles, while the other consisted of Kamloops skip Harry Noel backed by Nanaimo players Harold Levesque, Howard Jeglum and Bob Franklin. Cowles led 6-5 after six ends, but Noel scored one in the seventh and stole another in the final end for a 7-6 victory.

Taking third in the D bracket was the Nanaimo team of Rick Ringma, Scott MacLean, Lorne Bury and Don Lutes, while fourth went to the Craig Bernes foursome out of Courtenay.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Ian Thorpe writes about sports Thursdays.

Just Posted

The B.C. Ministry of Education has announced close to $44 million for the province’s schools for COVID-19 recovery. (News Bulletin file)
Nanaimo-Ladysmith school stakeholders say COVID-19 recovery funding can make a difference

B.C. Ministry of Education announces it expects a ‘near-normal’ return to class in September

Nanaimo artist Melissa Anderson has paintings on display at White Rabbit Coffee Co. for the next month. (Josef Jacobson/News Bulletin)
Nanaimo painter showcases coastal Island views in first exhibit in two years

Melissa Anderson presents ‘Seascapes’ oil painting exhibit at White Rabbit Coffee Co.

New COVID-19 cases on Vancouver Island by local health area for the week of June 6-12. (B.C. Centre for Disease Control image)
New COVID-19 cases up on Island, but health officials say trends going right way

There were 22 new COVID-19 cases in Greater Victoria last week after just four the week before

Regional District of Nanaimo is looking to repair sewage pipe in the Hammond Bay Road area, which was corroded by gas. (Black Press file)
Corroded sewer pipe along Nanaimo’s Hammond Bay Road will cost $5.5 million to fix

Pipe replacement and reinforcement part of $6.9-million infrastructure project

People line up to get their COVID-19 vaccine at a vaccination centre, Thursday, June 10, 2021 in Montreal. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz
Vaccines, low COVID case counts increase Father’s Day hope, but risk is still there

Expert says people will have to do their own risk calculus before popping in on Papa

The Co-op gas station at Whiskey Creek is burning after a camper van exploded while refueling just before 4 p.m. on Thursday, June 17, 2021. (FACEBOOK PHOTO)
Exploding camper van torches Highway 4 gas station between Qualicum Beach and Port Alberni

Highway traffic blocked after Whiskey Creek gas station erupts into flames

Helen Austin performing with Trent Freeman at the 2018 Vancouver Island MusicFest. Austin is one of the many performers listed for the 2021 event.
Vancouver Island MusicFest goes virtual for 2021

Black Press to stream 25 hours of programming July 9-11

Greater father involvement in the home leads to improved childhood development and increased marital satisfaction, says expert. (Black Press Media file photo)
Vancouver Island researcher finds lack of father involvement a drag on gender equality

Working women still taking on most child and household duties in Canada: UVic professor

FILE – A science class at L.A. Matheson Secondary in Surrey, B.C. on March 12, 2021. (Lauren Collins/Surrey Now Leader)
Teachers’ union wants more COVID transmission data as B.C. prepares for back-to-school

BCTF says that details will be important as province works on plan for September

Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry outlines B.C.’s COVID-19 restart plan, May 25, 2021, including larger gatherings and a possible easing of mandatory masks on July 1. (B.C. government photo)
B.C. records 120 new COVID-19 cases, second vaccines accelerating

Lower Pfizer deliveries for early July, Moderna shipments up

A Heffley Creek peacock caught not one - but two - lifts on a logging truck this month. (Photo submitted)
Heffley Creek-area peacock hops logging trucks in search of love

Peacock hitched two lifts in the past month

The Calgary skyline is seen on Friday, Sept. 15, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jeff McIntosh
2 deaths from COVID-19 Delta variant in Alberta, 1 patient was fully immunized

Kerry Williamson with Alberta Health Services says the patients likely acquired the virus in the hospital

The first suspension bridge is the tallest in Canada, with a second suspension bridge just below it. The two are connected by a trail that’s just over 1 km. (Claire Palmer photo)
PHOTOS: The highest suspension bridges in Canada just opened in B.C.

The Skybridge in Golden allows visitors to take in views standing at 130 and 80 metres

Most Read