Curlers don’t get spooked by competition at bonspiel

The Nanaimo Curling Centre held its first bonspiel of the season last weekend with the staging of the annual Halloween Open Bonspiel.

Tonight may be the official evening for ghosts, ghouls and trick or treaters, but Halloween came early this year at the Nanaimo Curling Centre.

The club held its first bonspiel of the season last weekend with the staging of the annual Halloween Open Bonspiel. Continuing a format begun several years ago, the competition allowed for teams with any combination of men and women curlers to enter. A total of 24 rinks took part this year, including entries from Duncan, Victoria, Qualicum and Comox.

As usual, the local club hosted a very successful event, complete with catered banquet, Halloween decorations and a costume parade. Congratulations go first of all to organizers Al and Linda Torgerson, Vic and Bronwen Brice, Dennis Anderson, Kellie Rice, Kevin Smith, Patty McRory and the others on the bonspiel committee.

As for the curling itself, games were held throughout the weekend leading up to finals on the Sunday.

It was a pair of Nanaimo mixed teams skipped by Frank Voysey and George Duffell that faced each other in the final of the A event, sponsored by Christensen Collision. Trailing 3-2 after five ends, the Voysey team struck for six points in the sixth end to take charge of the game and emerge with an 8-5 victory.

Teaming with Voysey for the bonspiel win were third Bob Franklin, second Eleanor Voysey and lead Anita Chambers. Others on the Duffell squad were third Sally Noonan, second Jake McGlenen and lead Jill McGlenen.

Third place in A event went to the foursome of Steve Waatainen, Keith Clarke, Angela Price and Michelle Waatainen.

Local teams also swept top spots in the bonspiel’s Tegart Memorial B event. Mike Kenefick skipped the winning team, which led all the way in an 8-2 decision over the Frank Smith foursome. On the Kenefick team were third Elaine Cloutier, second Burnie Smith and lead Charmaine Fines, while Smith was backed by third Zorka Smith, second Ian Cook and lead Linda Wood.

Claiming third place in B event was the five-person Nanaimo junior team of John MacDonald, Dakota Stevens, Jarod Nobel, Brendan Sandberg and Steven Franklin.

Sponsor for the bonspiel’s C event was Big O Tire and the final featured an interesting showdown between teams skipped by Bob Chlan and Brenda Ridgway. A back-and-forth match saw the game tied 4-4 after six ends. But a steal of two points in the seventh propelled the Chlan foursome to a 6-4 win. Others on the victorious team were third Heather Lindsay-Lecuyer, second Harold Levesque and lead Howard Jeglum. With Ridgway were third Leslie Shearer, second Susan Chepil and lead Lois Russell.

The team of Ron Kaneen, Al Torgerson, Chuck Rogerson and John McKay took third place in C event.

There’s more bonspiel action this coming weekend, as the Nanaimo Curling Centre is hosting a one-day Junior Spiel this Saturday (Nov. 2), with young curlers in action from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Also upcoming, the popular annual Hangover League men’s bonspiel is set for Nov. 15-17 and a Masters Open daytime bonspiel is Nov. 27-29.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Ian Thorpe writes about sports Thursdays.

Just Posted

Janice Coady, left, Aimee Chalifoux and Linda Milford at a vigil for Amy Watts on Wednesday, June 16, outside Nanaimo city hall. (Greg Sakaki/News Bulletin)
‘We need to do better,’ says mother of woman who was killed in Nanaimo

Vigil held for former outreach worker Amy Watts, whose body was found downtown June 3

The B.C. Ministry of Education has announced close to $44 million for the province’s schools for COVID-19 recovery. (News Bulletin file)
Nanaimo-Ladysmith school stakeholders say COVID-19 recovery funding can make a difference

B.C. Ministry of Education announces it expects a ‘near-normal’ return to class in September

Nanaimo artist Melissa Anderson has paintings on display at White Rabbit Coffee Co. for the next month. (Josef Jacobson/News Bulletin)
Nanaimo painter showcases coastal Island views in first exhibit in two years

Melissa Anderson presents ‘Seascapes’ oil painting exhibit at White Rabbit Coffee Co.

New COVID-19 cases on Vancouver Island by local health area for the week of June 6-12. (B.C. Centre for Disease Control image)
New COVID-19 cases up on Island, but health officials say trends going right way

There were 22 new COVID-19 cases in Greater Victoria last week after just four the week before

People line up to get their COVID-19 vaccine at a vaccination centre, Thursday, June 10, 2021 in Montreal. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz
Vaccines, low COVID case counts increase Father’s Day hope, but risk is still there

Expert says people will have to do their own risk calculus before popping in on Papa

The Co-op gas station at Whiskey Creek is burning after a camper van exploded while refueling just before 4 p.m. on Thursday, June 17, 2021. (FACEBOOK PHOTO)
Exploding camper van torches Highway 4 gas station between Qualicum Beach and Port Alberni

Highway traffic blocked after Whiskey Creek gas station erupts into flames

Helen Austin performing with Trent Freeman at the 2018 Vancouver Island MusicFest. Austin is one of the many performers listed for the 2021 event.
Vancouver Island MusicFest goes virtual for 2021

Black Press to stream 25 hours of programming July 9-11

Greater father involvement in the home leads to improved childhood development and increased marital satisfaction, says expert. (Black Press Media file photo)
Vancouver Island researcher finds lack of father involvement a drag on gender equality

Working women still taking on most child and household duties in Canada: UVic professor

FILE – A science class at L.A. Matheson Secondary in Surrey, B.C. on March 12, 2021. (Lauren Collins/Surrey Now Leader)
Teachers’ union wants more COVID transmission data as B.C. prepares for back-to-school

BCTF says that details will be important as province works on plan for September

Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry outlines B.C.’s COVID-19 restart plan, May 25, 2021, including larger gatherings and a possible easing of mandatory masks on July 1. (B.C. government photo)
B.C. records 120 new COVID-19 cases, second vaccines accelerating

Lower Pfizer deliveries for early July, Moderna shipments up

A Heffley Creek peacock caught not one - but two - lifts on a logging truck this month. (Photo submitted)
Heffley Creek-area peacock hops logging trucks in search of love

Peacock hitched two lifts in the past month

The Calgary skyline is seen on Friday, Sept. 15, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jeff McIntosh
2 deaths from COVID-19 Delta variant in Alberta, 1 patient was fully immunized

Kerry Williamson with Alberta Health Services says the patients likely acquired the virus in the hospital

The first suspension bridge is the tallest in Canada, with a second suspension bridge just below it. The two are connected by a trail that’s just over 1 km. (Claire Palmer photo)
PHOTOS: The highest suspension bridges in Canada just opened in B.C.

The Skybridge in Golden allows visitors to take in views standing at 130 and 80 metres

Most Read