New Lantzville councillors take seats

NANAIMO – The inaugural meeting for Lantzville's new council happens Monday (Aug. 31).

Four newly-elected councillors will take their seats for the first time at the District of Lantzville with an inaugural council meeting on Monday (Aug.31).

It will mark the beginning of a term for four councillors, who’ll swear an Oath of Office, but it’ll also be the first time since May council has been restored to full power.

Four politicians resigned earlier this year, leaving two councillors and the district’s mayor to continue civic business with limited powers. A byelection was held Aug. 8, with wins by Bob Colclough, Will Wyn Geselbracht, Dot Neary and Mark Swain.

The meeting will also be new Chief Administrative Officer Brad McRae’s introduction to the community. He replaces Twyla Graff, who resigned as CAO in April.

The meeting is open to the public. It begins at 7 p.m. at the Royal Canadian Legion Branch No. 257, at 7225 Lantzville Rd.