Election 2014: Diana Johnstone will not seek re-election

NANAIMO – Councillors Diana Johnstone and George Anderson have both announced they will not run in the civic election on Nov. 15.

Nanaimo city councillor Diana Johnstone has announced she will not run in the upcoming civic election.

Johnstone, a two-term politician, is the second city council member not to seek re-election. Coun. George Anderson is also not looking to return to his seat.

“I definitely want to be able to still sit on city committees and serve my community in different volunteer capacities, but I think I want to spend more time with my family,” she said, adding she would also like to see new faces on council and by stepping down it offers another opportunity.

Johnstone, who was also chairwoman of the Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission, said she is thankful for the appointment and is proud of the acquisitions made in sustaining parks and green spaces as well as the role she played in the vote to partner with the Port Theatre and Nanaimo Art Gallery to expand the venues, services and programs.

“I wish all incumbents and others who are seeking election, an excellent campaign and that those elected will work together along with our amazing staff to ensure that Nanaimo continues to be vibrant and sustainable, ensuring the best quality of life for our fellow citizens to live, work and play,” she said in a statement.

Incumbents Ted Greves, Jim Kipp, Diane Brennan, Fred Pattje and Bill Bestwick are all seeking another term. Mayor John Ruttan and Coun. Bill McKay are both vying for the mayoral seat.