Skip to content

City of Nanaimo fills seats on Tourism Advisory Committee

Committee will craft new tourism model for Nanaimo

Seats are now filled on an advisory committee set to create a new model for tourism service in the Harbour City.

The City of Nanaimo struck a Tourism Advisory Committee as part of a transition process, after council separated tourism from the now defunct Nanaimo Economic Development Corporation.

The 11-member group will develop a new model to strengthen collaboration and integration across all parts of the local tourism sector and have a goal of providing recommendations to council for the successful delivery of unified tourism services, according to a city press release. Work on a new model for tourism service will begin this month, and it will seek input from stakeholders.

Members in the group include Mike Bauche, Leif Bogwald, Dan Brady, Chao Chang, Lex Dunn, Rosemary Gibson, Jenn Houtby-Ferguson, Dale Partridge, Robert Plante, Joan Spencer and Henry Traa.

Appointees were chosen from 32 applications.

Tourism updates are on the city website at