Skip to content

Brown elected new RDN board chairperson, replacing Thorpe

Regional District of Nanaimo holding ‘inaugural’ meeting of 2020-21 today, Nov. 10
The Regional District of Nanaimo administration centre on Hammond Bay Road in Nanaimo. (Nanaimo News Bulletin file)

Regional District of Nanaimo board will have someone new at the head of the table, after Tyler Brown was elected as the new chairperson.

Brown, RDN Nanaimo director, ran for the position against incumbent Ian Thorpe, another Nanaimo director, and was selected by secret ballot at the RDN’s ‘inaugural’ 2020-21 meeting today, Nov. 10.

“It is a privilege and an honour to be elected by my colleagues to serve the RDN board in governing the affairs of the district,” said Brown in a press release. “Decisions regarding public policies, bylaws and key services throughout the region will continue to be sensitive to the priorities and needs of our residents.”

Vanessa Craig, Gabriola Island director, will serve as RDN board vice-chairperson, retaining the role to which she was first elected last year.

Brown and Craig will hold their board positions until at least the inaugural meeting in fall 2021.

Like us on Facebook and follow Karl on Twitter and Instagram

Karl Yu

About the Author: Karl Yu

After interning at Vancouver Metro free daily newspaper, I joined Black Press in 2010.
Read more

Pop-up banner image