Skip to content

Bathtub race in pictures

NANAIMO – Clint Heine of Errington won the 2012 Great International World Championship Bathtub Race.
Jay Edwards rolls out of his bathtub at Departure Bay beach near the finish line of the Great International World Championship Bathtub Race on Sunday.

A downpour didn't really dampen the 2012 Great International World Championship Bathtub Race on Sunday in Nanaimo. Twenty-seven of the 36 tubbers who started the race were able to complete the course and ring the finish-line bell at Departure Bay beach.

Clint Heine of Errington was first to reach the finish line in one hour, 19 minutes, 52 seconds, just 15 seconds ahead of Brandon Leigh of Nanaimo. Defending champion Nathan Barlow of Nanoose Bay placed third.

Angie Gignac was the first woman to reach the finish line, coming in fourth overall.

Darren Logan, 48, was oldest tubber to finish and also won the Last-Place Survivor award. Tia Collins, 19, was youngest tubber to finish and Jaime Garcia was heaviest tubber to finish. Marian Stewart won the sportsmanship award and David McHardy of Surrey was recognized for travelling the farthest distance to compete. Former champ Shawn Lamoureux won the Silver Plunger award as first tubber to sink.

For the full story, please click here.

About the Author: Greg Sakaki

I have been in the community newspaper business for two decades, all of those years with Black Press Media.
Read more