Airport commission nominates new chairman

NANAIMO – Airport commission selects new chairman at annual general meeting.

  • Apr. 16, 2014 6:00 a.m.

Nanaimo Airport’s Board of Directors Commission swapped a new man into the chairman’s seat at its annual general meeting April 8.

John Craig swapped seats with Russ Burke, who has chaired the commission since 2012.

Craig was nominated to the board in 2010 by the Cowichan Valley Regional District.

Craig, whose career spans more than 25 years with major development companies and as president of his own firm, brings extensive experience in commercial development and as vice-chairman of the Edmonton Regional Airport Authority to the chairman’s position.

Other appointments included Lucie Gosselin to vice-chairwoman and director and Ray Gauthier was reappointed to the board for another three-year term.

Nanaimo Airport Commission is comprised of up to nine directors and a past chair, all appointed by the commission. Four are selected by the commission to represent the community at large. The remaining five appointees represent the City of Nanaimo, Regional District of Nanaimo, Cowichan Valley Regional District, Ladysmith and the Greater Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce.