Winners toasted at Nanaimo’s Hangover Bonspiel

The Nanaimo Curling Centre on Wall Street has been busy, says columnist


As we head into December, the local curling season is well underway. The Nanaimo Curling Centre on Wall Street has been busy with daytime and evening leagues and several competitive bonspiels have been held.

Heading up the executive for NCC this season is president Mary Ellen Konyer, who takes over from past president Mark Duffell. Brian McRory is the vice president, Tom Weinreich is treasurer and Mark Blackell is club secretary.

Also on the board of directors are John Knox as director of curling, Vic Brice as director of bonspiel, volunteers and catering and Jim Boutillier as director of club marketing. April Gale-Seixeiro looks after membership and communications, George Duffell is director of facilities and Muir Meredith heads up fundraising.

Staff at the curling club is led by Andrea Trepanier, entering her second year as club manager. Debra May looks after the pro shop, Linnia Etmannski operates the coffee shop and Darren Horton is head ice technician.

As for recent events, a highlight during November was the Sleeman Nanaimo Men’s Hangover Bonspiel, a popular annual spiel put on by the Sunday morning men’s league more commonly known as the Hangover League. This year’s version saw a healthy field of 34 teams enjoy competitive curling along with plenty of fun and fellowship. The bonspiel’s organizing committee included Ferdy Hobson, Garret Phenix, Jim Forrester, Brendan Neff, Chuck Passmore and others. Special mention also to Brad Lang and Westburne Electric for sponsoring ice rental.

The bonspiel’s A event was sponsored by Midland Tools and featured a championship final between entries skipped by Mike Kenefick and Brendan Neff. It was the Kenefick team that prevailed, eventually posting a 6-3 victory. Others on the winning team were Bob Palynchuk, Dennis Plamondon and Stan Wheat, while the remainder of the Neff squad were Kevin May, Doug Neff and Rick Neff.

Third place went to Wayne Sutherland, Brett Edwards, Rob Mitchell and Scott Bascom.

Sponsor for B event was Mark’s Import Auto. Skip Rick Ringma and his team of Scott MacLean, Neil Shot and Darrell Knowles won the final, thanks to a 7-3 win over Mike Redlick, Daryl Knievel, Rod Edgeworth and Ian Tyreman. Third was the team of Ed Schmuland, Cal Parker, Derek Chase and Brent Corsa.

In the C event, sponsored by Christensen Collision, the foursome of Ian Cook, Rick Dunne, Tom Freeman and Mathew Davies downed Tim Cullen, Cam Foster, Murray Norby and Greg Norby 7-4 in the final. Third place went to Dave Wright, Paul Konyer, Louie Papp and Dave Bandy.

Sponsor for D event was G Spot Welding and Fabrication and the winning team consisted of John Reeves, Chris Morrison, Cam MacKinnon and Ed Holland. The Reeves squad posted a 9-2 win over Arthur Cantelon, Chris Parker, Dave Perpeluk and Ron Membery. Darryl Graham, Dan Lutz, Jim Boutillier and Dennis Shupe were third.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair and show good sportsmanship.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Islands Trust Conservancy gets funding for protection of at-risk species

Conservancy manages habitat for more than 25 plant and animal species at risk

Nanaimo’s Western Edge Theatre returns to the stage in Port Theatre debut

Theatre group presents ‘2 Across,’ described as a ‘middle-aged romantic comedy’

Purebred breeders go for a walk in Nanaimo to show off their dogs

Purebred dog breeders sometimes get a bad rap, says event organizer

City reviewing plans for huge Sandstone project in south Nanaimo

Seacliff Properties says it’s been told to be ready for a public hearing this fall

Ferry riders say lower fares are what’s most needed to improve service

Provincial government announces findings of public engagement process

B.C. or Ontario? Residential school survivors fight move of court battle

It’s now up to Ontario’s Court of Appeal to sort out the venue question

B.C. transportation minister will not seek re-election

Claire Trevena has held the position since 2017

Body discovered floating in water near Lasqueti Island

JRCC reports personnel aboard fishing vessel made the find

Young B.C. cancer survivor rides 105-km with Terry Fox’s brother

Jacob Bredenhof and Darrell Fox’s cycling trek raises almost $90,000 for cancer research

B.C. migrant, undocumented workers rally for permanent residency program

Rally is part of the Amnesty for Undocumented Workers Campaign led by the Migrant Workers Centre

Preparations underway for pandemic election in Saskatchewan and maybe B.C.

Administrators in B.C. and around the country are also looking to expand voting by mail during the pandemic

Nearly 20 per cent of COVID-19 infections among health-care workers by late July

WHO acknowledged the possibility that COVID-19 might be spread in the air under certain conditions

Nanaimo RCMP community policing needs a few good volunteers

Volunteers needed to help Nanaimo RCMP and city deliver crime prevention and safety programs

Protesters march in Nanaimo, calling for greater protection of forests and watersheds

March for the Forests happened downtown on Friday afternoon

Most Read