Track athletes win races, awards

This past spring and summer marked another extremely successful season for members of the Nanaimo Track and Field Club.

It is hardly a surprise, but this past spring and summer marked another extremely successful season for members of the Nanaimo Track and Field Club.

For starters, the club hosted several major events this year, including the B.C. Championships Jamboree and the B.C. Cross-Country Championships. Thanks to strong community support, significant improvements were made to club facilities at the Rotary Bowl track. A pair of Nanaimo athletes, Jason Clare and Alyssa Mousseau, competed for Canada at the World Youth Championships in Columbia. A total of nine club athletes qualified as Team B.C. members at various age levels. Those involved were Joel De Schiffart, Sean Miller, Jenaya Pynn, Clare, Mousseau, Rachel Jerome, Marina Andersen, Madison Heisterman and Jessica Katzberg. In addition, three of the club’s coaches – Bernie Katzberg, Paul Little and Allen Johnston – were named to national or provincial teams.

Many of the individuals who contributed to last season’s success were honoured at the track club’s annual awards banquet, held this past Saturday.

Recognized as outstanding tykes on the season were Katelyn Putz and Krescyn Moonsamy. Olivia Lundman and Nate Paris were the club’s outstanding peewees. Outstanding bantams were Karly Dickenson and Ethan Katzberg. Chosen as outstanding midget girl was Heisterman, with Ben Toth the outstanding midget boy.

Mousseau and Hassy Fashina Bombata shared the award for outstanding youth girl, with Mousseau also named as female track athlete of the year. Similarly, the outstanding youth boy award was shared by Isaac Sandri and Clare, with Clare also chosen as male field athlete of the year.

The award for outstanding junior girl went to Pynn. Outstanding junior boy was Miller, who was also tabbed as male track athlete of the year. In the masters’ category, Sandie Bissessur and Joe Giegerich were named as outstanding female and male winners.

In other club awards, female field athlete of the year went to Jessica Katzberg. Andersen was chosen as outstanding female off-track athlete and Jayden Watson as outstanding male off-track athlete. Makala Mitchell was recognized as having been the outstanding athlete at the 2015 Nanaimo Track and Field Club Meet.

Hope Stewart was named as most improved female athlete on the year, while Cameron Martiniuk was named as most improved male athlete. The female sportsmanship award was presented to Amy Morris and the male sportsmanship award went to Carter Higgins.

Also honoured at the awards banquet was long-time publicity director Terri Doughty. She was presented with the 2015 President’s Trophy for her service and dedication to the club. I would like to add my personal thanks to Doughty, who has decided to step down from her role. For the past several years she has done an exceptional job of keeping local media types fully informed of track club activities.

We may be in the off-season now, but volunteers and athletes are already looking forward to another exciting track and field season.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Just Posted

UPDATE: Suspect and Mountie bitten by police dog during arrest south of Nanaimo

Two suspects were arrested in connection with a stolen pickup truck in Cassidy on Thursday evening

City to re-name community policing office and keep it open

Council votes 6-2 for city to maintain a presence at Victoria Crescent office

Nanaimo RCMP seek help finding missing Nanaimo boy

Chaas Mearns, 13, was reported missing Jan. 30

Construction set to begin on Nanaimo airport terminal expansion

First phase of construction project to begin in March or April

Duncan family says care home switched mom’s cat with robot cat

Staff alleged to have said they were taking cat for bath, then replaced her with robotic stuffed toy

VIDEO: Buccaneers double up Generals to win Game 2

Nanaimo now leads the best-of-seven series against Oceanside two games to none

Beefs & Bouquets, Feb. 22

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail

More snow forecast to fall Friday on Vancouver Island

Environment Canada calling for 2-10 centimetres on the east coast of the Island and areas inland

VIDEO: Buccaneers double up Generals to win Game 2

Nanaimo now leads the best-of-seven series against Oceanside two games to none

Indigenous elders share history with Nanaimo-Ladysmith School District students

‘Our kids learning their history through elders is nothing that we can find in our textbooks’

UPDATE: One driver taken to hospital after three-vehicle collision in Harewood

Accident happened at Howard Avenue and Seventh Street at about 9:30 a.m.

B.C. ski cross racer wins Olympic gold

Kelowna’s Kelsey Serwa wins the gold medal in thrilling fashion in PyeongChang

New charges against ex-Trump campaign associates

More charges were laid Thursday against President Donald Trump’s former campaign chairman and his business associate

Man accused in death of Winnipeg teen Tina Fontaine not guilty

Raymond Cormier was accused of killing Indigenous 15-year-old and dumping her body in the Red River

Most Read