Records fall at district track championships

For local elementary students, the spring track and field season came to an exciting conclusion this month, when the annual Nanaimo Elementary Schools’ Track and Field Championships were held at Rotary Bowl stadium.

For local elementary students, the spring track and field season came to an exciting conclusion this month, when the annual Nanaimo Elementary Schools’ Track and Field Championships were held at Rotary Bowl stadium. We’ll feature boys’ results next week; this week we highlight the top three finishers in each age group from events in girls’ competition at the district meet…

In the tyke (born 2001-02) age division, Rutherford runner Heather Bray had a strong meet, winning both the 100-metre dash and 200m final and placing second in the 400m. Mountain View’s Danielle Norman was second in the 100m and teammate Mackenzie Guild took second in the 200m. Third in the 100m and 200m races was Courtney Anderton from Rutherford. Kaitlyn Watson from Cinnabar won the 400m, with Rutherford’s Taya Ironside third.

Addie Battie representing Forest Park won both the 800m and 1,500m events. Jillian Jeffrey from Uplands Park was second in the 800m and McGirr’s Jiho Park came third. In the 1,500m, second and third respectively went to Briana Smith from Uplands Park and Karly Dickenson of Rock City.

With field events for tyke girls, Ali Hunter from Randerson Ridge won the long jump, outleaping Felicia McCreight of South Wellington and Sadie Gambrill from Gabriola. In the high jump, Delaney O’Toole from Seaview was first, Cypress Fryer of Hammond Bay second and Catherine Norman of Randerson Ridge third. Megan Munro and Isabella Bortolotto from Pleasant Valley were first and second in the softball throw event, with third place going to McGirr’s Selena Spracklin.

Competition on the track for peewee (born 1999-2000) girls saw Rock City athlete Hassy Fashina-Bombata win both the 100m and 200m. Runner-up in the 100m was Haylee Grobowski from Forest Park. Amy Cooke-Yarborough of Mountain View placed second in the 200m, with Savannah Rathy from Pleasant Valley third. Quarterway’s Katty Timmins took third place in the 100m.

A highlight of this year’s district meet was the performance of Cinnabar Valley runner Madison Heisterman. Heisterman was first in the 400m race, then set new district records by winning the 800m in 2.32.09 and the 1,500m race in 5.06.12. McGirr’s Tanaz Fouladi placed second in both the 400m and 800m runs, while Amber Swithin from North Cedar was runner-up in the 1,500m. Third-place finishes went to Jessica King from Cilaire in the 800m and Rock City’s Paige Johnson in the 1,500m.

Claire Thomas from Seaview, Kaylea Ganderton of Rock City and Sophia Fan from McGirr were the top three long jumpers, while Rutherford’s Julia Clark won the triple jump. Second in that event was Micaela Pereira from McGirr, with third place going to Rutherford’s Madeline Hart. Top high jumpers were Jessica Orr from Rutherford, Tommylia Dunbar from Frank J. Ney and Madison McDonald of Pleasant Valley.

In throwing events for peewee girls, Hayley Nixon of McGirr was first in both discus and shot put. Second place in shot put went to Elizabeth Ramey from Randerson Ridge, with third claimed by Pleasant Valley’s Miki Srdic. Kaylea Ganderson of Rock City and McGirr’s Mercedes Harpur were second and third in discus. Randy-Lee Legrand from Georgia Avenue and Alex Watts of Rutherford placed second and third respectively in softball throw.

Track events for the bantam (born 1997-98) girls included a victory for North Cedar’s Hannah Stannard in the 100m finals. Placing second in the 200m was Mountain View’s Amelia Kazanowski. Third place in both the 100m and 200m went to Olivia Mjaaland from Rock City.

Alyssa Mousseau representing Uplands Park was victorious in both the 400m and 800m. North Cedar’s Hannah Stannard finished second in the 400m, while Amy Morris from Coal Tyee was second in the 800m and also the winner of the 1,500m event. Third in both the 400m and 800m was Megan Zolorycki from Coal Tyee. In the 1,500m distance, Rock City’s Hayley Dickenson was second and Megan Orr from Georgia Avenue third.

Brooke Wright from Mountain View won the long jump, beating out Olivia Mjaaland of Rock City and Marla Maddin from Davis Road. Wright was also champion of the high jump, where Emily Holmes from Frank J. Ney was second and Quarterway’s Rebecca Evenson third. In the triple jump, Hammond Bay’s Kirsten Stochmal was second and Hayley Carolan from McGirr third. Top three in the discus were Elise Angelucci from Rutherford, Taylor Soles of Forest Park and Seaview’s Hailey Kjaer. Kjaer was the winner in shot put, with Forest Park’s Keira Christensen second and Marissa Stritzel from Mountain View third.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Ian Thorpe writes about sports Saturdays.