Rapids’ season went swimmingly

NANAIMO – Columnist Ian Thorpe recaps the season for Nanaimo White Rapids Swim Club.

With summer well over and the colder weather upon us, the outdoor Kin Pool in Bowen Park is understandably sitting empty. For the Nanaimo White Rapids Swim Club, the main tenant of the pool, another season has now come to an end.

The accomplishments of the club’s swimmers were celebrated recently, as the White Rapids held their year-end awards night. My thanks to club secretary Diane McGonigle for sending along news from the event.

Among awards handed out, recognized as the most improved swimmers over the course of the season were Isabella Moore, Jack Rhode, Beth Kerridge, John Kirkhope, Lucy Wiggers, Oliver Orton, Cameron Laturnus, Hailee Bartleman, Duncan Boychuk, Jack Laroche, Ashley King, Finn Bodnar, Moira McGorman, Jackson Say, Jordan Labas, Nyree McGonigle and Dima Bobkov.

Receiving acknowledgement as top novice swimmers from the past summer were Jasmine Schellinck and Jack Moore, while Jack Mace was most improved in water polo.

Sportsmanship awards were presented to Nadia Sertic, Keira Martin, Levi Ronkainen, Sophia Schellinck and Hamish MacMillan.

Outstanding swimmers from the various girls’ divisions were Cadence Jones, Kaylee Morch, Ava Johnson, Jessica King and Breanna Kossey. For the boys, outstanding swimmers were Carter James, Dylan Barberie, Gus Johnson, Eric Labas, Quinn Todd and Seamus O’Toole.

Named as the most outstanding swimmer overall from the junior girls’ age division was Devinn Moore, while Peter Morch and Tayden De Pol shared the award as most outstanding swimmers for junior boys. Most outstanding from the senior boys’ division was Chris Yates and honoured from the senior girls’ division was Sarah Kirkhope.

Work ethic awards were given to David Macleod, Delaney O’Toole, Jared Winkle, Katrina Rivers, Mackenzie Bartleman, Nyah De Pol, Ry Della Rosa, Adam King, Nick Sertic, Ben Proudfoot, Kathryn Say, Jackson Hessler, Farrah Laroche, Theo Pettitt, Laura Mace, Hannah Duffell and Drew Duffell.

A number of White Rapids managed to break club records during the season. Peter Morch received a medallion for his record-breaking performance in 100m free, 50m free, 100 individual medley and 50 fly. Devinn Moore set a new record in 50 free, Chris Yates in 100 back and Tayden De Pol in 50 back and 100 IM.

A new record in Div. 1 boys’ medley relay and freestyle relay was set by the team of Dylan Barberie, Carter James, John Kirkhope and Peter Morch. In Div. 7, Jackson James, Owen Simpson, Josh Todd and Chris Yates broke the record in the medley relay, while Steven Moore, Owen Simpson, Josh Todd and Chris Yates established a new record in boys’ freestyle relay.

The final award of the evening, the Marge Dudley Award, named in honour of the club’s first president, was presented to Steven Moore for his overall dedication to the sport.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair and show good sportsmanship.