Action at the Nanaimo Curling Centre. (News Bulletin file photo)

Action at the Nanaimo Curling Centre. (News Bulletin file photo)

Nanaimo Curling Centre honours top teams and also contributors to the club

Teams wrap up their season, present awards


Another winter season has passed and with it another year of play at the Nanaimo Curling Centre. To mark the change of seasons, the club wrapped things up on the ice at the end of March with a Spring Fling Hawaiian Bonspiel. Sixteen teams of experienced curlers took part, along with another eight entries featuring at least two novice players each. Bonspiel organizer Margie Blackley had everything very well organized and my thanks to her for passing along results…

The spiel’s A event was sponsored by Johnston Franklin Bishop Lawyers and resulted in a championship trophy for skip Keith Ainsley and his teammates Susan Chepil, Tom Freeman and Carole Dorman. In B event, sponsored by Happy House Designs, Mike Kenefick skipped his team of Michelle Plamondon, Dennis Plamondon and Troy Patterson to victory in the final. Laird Wheaton GM sponsored C event. There, the winning team was made of up Carol Tromans, Diana Johnstone, Joan Hall and Tanis Wilson. Sponsoring the novice division of the spiel was Barron’s Home Appliance Service and the winning team was that of Moira Ryan, Carolle MacIntosh, Laura LaBerge and Shawn Poissant.

Following the Spring Fling bonspiel, various divisions of the curling club held awards nights to honour top teams from the past season. Men’s coordinator Paul Konyer sends word that from the Tuesday night men’s league, the A event title went Mike Kenefick, Bob Palynchuk, Stan Wheat and Brandon Mason. Top team in B event was Jim Beecroft, Nick Mangano, Neil Schott and Barry Suhan, while C event winners were skip Dave Perpeluk and his squad of Aaron Kirkbride, Michael Bassili and Bert Grzesiczek.

Thursday night men’s league winner was Brendan Neff and his teammates Rob Vlaj, Tanner McQuarrie, Russ Pawliuk and Evan Doyle. Runner-up team consisted of Tom Weinreich, Bob Cavezza, Lou Cavezza and Paul Merkel. The Weinreich foursome was also runner-up in club championship playdowns, which were won by Steve Waatainen, Keith Clarke, Darrel Knowles and Greg Norby.

From the awards night for the Mark’s Import Auto Senior Men’s 55-Plus League, organizer Muir Meredith reports that Square 1, sponsored by Mark’s Import Auto, was won this season by Merv Osler, Gord Borbandy, Nick Rvachew and Doug Hammermeister. Square 2, sponsored by Royal Lepage, went to Darryl Graham, George Acheson, Dan Hooper and Jim Patrick. Christensen Collision sponsored Square 3, claimed by skip Ron Kulai and his teammates Nick Rvachew and Bob Wong, with the Island GM Square 4 won by Darryl Graham, Wally Funk, Dennis Shupe and Brian McRory. Receiving the John Anderson Memorial Trophy for service to the Senior Men’s League were Vic Brice and Bob Wong.

Turning to ladies’ awards, the Tuesday Business Ladies League sponsored by Shannon Firth Real Estate, saw first place earned by Marla Guldbransen, Jessica Pyett, Kelsey Price and Shannon Frith. In second were Teri Palynchuk, Donna Gannon, Jodi Crawford and Kari Negrin.

The Thursday afternoon league was sponsored by Cottonwood Golf Course and P&P Plumbing. Aggregate champions were skip Pat Merkel together with Cate Barrett, Joan Hall and April Mathers. Second place in aggregate went to Lorraine Jeffries, Heather Lindsay-Lecuyer, E.T. Mitton and Joanne Ikert.

Kellie Rice was presented with the Frankie Shaw Award in recognition of her contributions to the curling club. Another highlight of the evening was a special tribute to long-time volunteer Jessie Whittam. A montage of photos and shared memories brought laughter and tears as the popular Whittam’s 25 years with the club were recalled – including her win at masters provincials in 2002. Joanne Phillips took time to pass along the above ladies’ results, so my thanks to her.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.


Pop-up banner image ×