Lacrosse teams among B.C.’s best

This past summer was another successful one for teams representing the Nanaimo District Lacrosse Association.

This past summer was another successful one for teams representing the Nanaimo District Lacrosse Association. A number of young players earned the opportunity to compete at provincial playoffs and even at the national level.

Those earning medals included the Nanaimo peewee A1 team which had an excellent season and captured the Island title. Then it was on to provincials in Richmond. In the championship game Ridge Meadows claimed gold with a close 6-4 win, but Nanaimo was full measure for the silver medal. On the team were players Dante Paziuk, Maguire Sjogren, Jayden Thomas, Nathan Smith, Hayden Landa, Dylan Manson, Logan Dean, Brett Merner, Adam Jacklin, Garett Adshead, Patrick Seward, Luke Lavery, Logan Schmidt, Connor deWit, Ethan Stannard, Logan Bob, Jake McInnes, all-star Andrew Bowman and Fair Play award winner Matt Boas. Assistant coaches for the team were Brian Boas, Erick Merner and Billy Schmidt. Head coach was Brett Fleming, who was awarded Fair Play Coach by his fellow coaches at the provincial tournament.

Meanwhile, at provincials in Vancouver, the Nanaimo bantam A2 Timbermen came away with a bronze medal thanks to an 8-2 victory over Prince George. On the roster were Colby Bowman, Ashton Bryant, Brendan Carlson, West Cateaux, Aidan Collery, Wes DeGear, Darius Edwards, Carter Ekland, Mitchell Finner, Zachery Giszas, Kameron McDonald, Luke Ory, Tosh Paziuk, Nolan Ross, Nolen Tomiyama, Fair Play award winner Dylan Clark and tournament all-star Riley Gannon. Coach for the boys was Chris Bowman.

Local girls’ teams also advanced to provincials this past season. Among them, the peewee Timbermen competed at the B.C. Lacrosse championships in Victoria and edged Coquitlam Adanacs 3-2 in the bronze-medal game. Coaches for the team were Dean Thomas and Amy Cooke-Yarborough. Players were tournament all-star Elise Olson, Fair Play award winner Keira Martin, along with Veronica Jones, Sarah Cooper, Camryn Baglo, Elizabeth Rocha, Madelyn Thomas, Peyton Smith, Kaelee Zarkovic, Alexa Berg, Jocelyn Apperloo, Pyper Bekkers, Avery Winchell, Lauren Olson, Rhys Winchell, Tayah Sampson, Hailey Nohr and Teagan Reimer.

Just missing out on a bronze medal at provincials was the Nanaimo bantam girls’ squad which was edged 2-0 by New Westminster. Still, it was a very successful season for the local team. Chosen as an all-star was Olivia Ory. Head coach for the girls was Toni Angell, assisted by Jeff MacDonald and Shaelyn Ross.

Special congratulations go to local players who were selected to play at nationals this season. At the peewee level, Andrew Bowman, Matthew Boas, and Brett Merner were part of Team B.C. that won a national bronze medal in Whitby, Ont. Alternates were Luke Lavery, Dylan Manson, and Jake McInnes. Nanaimo’s Will Cookman also claimed a bronze medal in Whitby as a member of the Team B.C. midget squad.

The accomplishments of players and coaches from the past season will be recognized at the Nanaimo District Lacrosse Association’s annual general meeting Sunday (Oct. 30) at 6 p.m. at the Departure Bay Activity Centre.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.


Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Artists adding finishing touches to new downtown Nanaimo murals

Three outdoor art works commissioned by Hub City Walls festival to be completed by Saturday

Nanaimo RCMP seek witnesses after assault leaves man with broken facial bones

Incident occurred 11:30 a.m. on Aug. 10, near Superstore, say police

Scouting report promising for Nanaimo Clippers with training camp around the corner

BCHL scouts Island Division champs as league anticipates 2020-21 season

Two motorcycles crash on Nanaimo’s Terminal Avenue, one rider injured

Collision happened at 9 a.m. Thursday near Cypress Street intersection

Sport performance centre’s physically distanced fitness program fuels food bank

Prime Sport Performance and Therapy presents $3,000 to Loaves and Fishes

578 British Columbians currently infected with COVID-19

Seventy-eight new cases confirmed in past 24 hours

Beefs & Bouquets, Aug. 12

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail

Captive fawn seized from Island home

Valley resident charged and fined under the Wildlife Act

Bamfield residents, visitors pressure province as anniversary of fatal crash approaches

Letter-writing campaign makes ‘heartfelt, emotional pleas’ to improve road conditions

Pandemic could be driving more parents to get on board with flu shot: study

University of B.C. study gauges willingness for parents to vaccinate children for influenza

Watchdog clears Okanagan RCMP in death of man after arrest over alleged stolen pizzas

The man died in hospital after having difficulty breathing and broken ribs

Have you seen Berleen? B.C. pig destined for sanctuary goes missing

Berleen was less than two weeks from travelling to Manitoba when she vanished

Health Canada says several kids hospitalized after eating edible pot products

People warned not to store cannabis products where children can find them

‘It’s not just about me’: McKenna cites need to protect politicians from threats

Police investigation was launched after someone yelled obscenities at a member of McKenna’s staff

Most Read