Lacrosse celebrates last year, plans for this year

The Nanaimo District Lacrosse Association's online registration is in full swing.

Although there are nearly two more months of winter left on the calendar, spring and summer sports groups are busy right now getting organized. Among them is the Nanaimo District Lacrosse Association, which held its annual general meeting prior to Christmas.

Returning as president of NDLA for the coming season is Brian Boas, assisted by vice-presidents Brande Terris and Maria Zary. Tracey Lassam is the association secretary, Natalie Cashmore the treasurer and Sue Stannard the registrar. Other directors are Steve Bishop, Shane Terris, Sean Lehman, Naomi Landry, Cathy Coulson, Carole Ory, Farren Ferguson, Joanna Bowman and Chris Fontenia.

Also at the AGM, various team and divisional awards were presented. Winners of most inspirational awards from last season at the peewee level were Keira Martin, Tyson Doumont, Cooper Weeks, Nathan Smith and Aidan Collery. Most sportsmanlike players were Lauren Olson, Liam Tessler, Connor Dawson, Ethan Kusz and Mitchell Finner and most improved peewee players were Pyper Bekkers, Carson Somerville, Zack Thompson, Matthew Hewitt and Darius Edwards.

From the bantam division, most inspirational awards went to Haley Campbell, Cole Harley, Brendan Olson and Josh Zary. Named as most sportsmanlike were Alyssa MacDonald, Conrad Dawes, Myles Van de Leur and Fisher Zawasky. Most improved players were Lauren Roberts, Rowen Pow, Dawson Wassell and Matt Krall.

Most inspirational players from the midget level were Emma Young, Nathan Anderton and Aidan Joly, most sportsmanlike were Nicole Briggs, Ben Whiting and Julian Johnny and most improved were Ainsley Allan, Jeevan Grewal and Aidan Cateaux. Named from the junior girls’ division were Maddy Krassman as most inspirational, Hannah Boas as most sportsmanlike and Santana MacIntyre as most improved.

Divisional awards recognized one best player from each boys’ and girls’ age division. Chosen were Elise Olson from peewee girls, Sarah Ferguson of bantam girls, Amy Cooke-Yarborough of midget girls and Elise Angelucci from junior girls. Sean Clark was the winner from peewee boys, Jake McGonigle from bantam boys and Matt Bishop from midget boys.

Other major awards presented saw Garrett Watson picked as best goalie on the year and Karson Gregory as defensive player of the year. Overall most sportsmanlike player was Corbin James and most improved player was Jazmine Patenaude. Referee of the year was Silas Boon, manager of the year was Shandra McInnes and coach of the year was Steve Bishop. Honoured as Lacrosse Boy from last season was Adam Fulton.

Preparing for the season ahead, a drop-in registration session was held this past Saturday at Beban Park. Online registration is in full swing, with Feb. 14 the deadline to avoid late fees. Registration rates range from $125 for mini-tykes (age 5-6) to $290 for midgets and juniors.

More information on the Nanaimo District Lacrosse Association is available at

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Masks and temperature checks now mandatory to enter Nanaimo’s Woodgrove Centre

Mall says it’s the first in B.C. to put the measures in place

Snuneymuxw, province sign land transfer agreement that includes parts of Mount Benson

First Nation sees economic development opportunities through forestry partnerships

Islands Trust Conservancy gets funding for protection of at-risk species

Conservancy manages habitat for more than 25 plant and animal species at risk

Nanaimo’s Western Edge Theatre returns to the stage in Port Theatre debut

Theatre group presents ‘2 Across,’ described as a ‘middle-aged romantic comedy’

Purebred breeders go for a walk in Nanaimo to show off their dogs

Purebred dog breeders sometimes get a bad rap, says event organizer

COVID-19: 4 more deaths, 366 new cases in B.C. since Friday

A total of 8,208 people in B.C. have tested positive for COVID-19 since January

Group wants Parliament, courts to hold social media to same standard as publishers

Daniel Bernhard made the comments shortly after Friends of Canadian Broadcasting released a research paper

B.C.’s Chase Claypool catches first NFL touchdown pass

Abbotsford grad establishes new record for longest scrimmage TD by a Canadian

B.C. has highest number of active COVID-19 cases per capita, federal data shows

B.C. currently has 1,803 active cases after weeks of COVID-19 spikes in the province

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

181 days gone: Family continues to look for man last seen in RCMP custody 6 months ago

Brandon Sakebow’s last known location was leaving Mission RCMP cell, police say; family has doubts

B.C. unveils new cannabis sales programs to help small, Indigenous growers

Government did not say how it will define small producers, but says nurseries will be included in the policy

Most Read