Matthew Bishop

Matthew Bishop

Island zone team full of fan favourites

Eighty-seven youths from Nanaimo, Nanoose, Lantzville, Cedar and Gabriola Island get to compete in their backyard at the B.C. Summer Games.

Nanaimo athletes will be tested against tough competition, but the locals have one distinct advantage: home field.

Eighty-seven teens from Nanaimo, Lantzville, Nanoose Bay, Cedar and Gabriola Island have qualified to be part of the Vancouver Island zone team at the B.C. Summer Games.

The idea of home-field advantage was inspiration for many athletes to try out in 2014.

“It’s pretty exciting, especially because it’s in Nanaimo, playing in your hometown for Team Island,” said Adam Fulton, field lacrosse player. “It’s pretty big when you’re playing lacrosse, getting the crowd behind you.”

Sometimes sports seasons come and go without fanfare, but Nanaimo’s athletes will be the talk of the town this month.

“A lot of people are coming, a lot of my friends are volunteers; everybody I know is part of it,” Fulton said. “It’s going to be a good time.”

If the youths are excited just to make the team, well then, to win a medal in their hometown Games would be sweet.

“The gold medal would be awesome to get here. It would be a great accomplishment for us,” said Jayden Marsh, baseball player.

They’ve achieved one goal already, so they might as well go for gold.

“Winning it here in Nanaimo? It would be cool,” said Dylan Kirby, baseball player.

Local B.C. Summer Games participants include:

Athletics – Josiah Ano, Dominic Boar, Hassy Fashina-Bombata, Thomas Grabher, Madison Heisterman, Jessica Katzberg, Joshua Mitchell, Taylor Sayah, Hope Stewart, Ron Greenhorn, Simon Phipps, Samantha Dimter, Simon Morris, Morgan Burke.

Baseball – Dylan Kirby, Josh Laukkanen, Cameron MacNeil, Jayden Marsh, Jordan Paterson, Aden Richardson, Alex Stevens, Spencer Walton.

Basketball – Owen Bray, Ian Grabher, Ethan Hart, Caleb Kotai, Noah Pasloske, Stefane Prairie, Kurt Schnablegger, Nate Seaman, Ryder Jenks, Nathan Pasloske, Richard Zhang.

Beach volleyball – Brady Andjelkovic, Samuel Harder, Kelsey Hutt, Jeff Webb.

Canoe/kayak – Thomas Duff, Ianna Folkes, Graham Hein, Jacob Horwood, Clare Shuley.

Equestrian – Kate Thomas, Samantha Prior.

Field lacrosse – Matthew Bishop, Adam Fulton.

Golf – Shirin Anjarwalla, Kevin Bishop, John MacDonald.

Inline hockey – Jackson Redman.

Lacrosse – Alex Hurren, Matthew O’Dwyer, Aidan O’Dwyer, Tyler Polywkan, Bryce Taylor.

Rowing – Marshall Ewen-Holdom.

Rugby – David Wicks.

Sailing – Daniel Benjamin, Heath Dean, Jonathan Kelly, Tiernan Kingzett, Maxime Therrien.

Soccer – Jazmine Wilkinson, Jack Bland.

Swimming – Reid Della-Rosa, Alexandra Roberts.

Synchronized swimming – Emily Duff, Hannah Proud, Jenna Krawchuk, Camrynn Myronuk, Maya Scott-Bradley, Paige Wilson.

Volleyball – Isaac Bevis, Douglas Cawthorne, Joey Chi, Owen Frey, Nivedan Kaushal, Alexandra Behie, Zoe Dendes, Hayley Goodwin, Elise Keeping-Bledsoe, Madison McDonald, Madeline McIntyre, Samantha Woodland.

Wrestling – Amtoj Dhaliwal, Erik Hovey, Faye Tuck.

Local coaches and officials participating in the B.C. Summer Games include:

Coaches – Bernie Katzberg, athletics, Paul Little, athletics, David Morris, athletics, Jordan Blundell, baseball, Rick Hart, basketball, Mark Simpson, basketball, Cheryl Kieth, equestrian; Glynis O’Shea, equestrian, Matt Cella, golf, Helene Delisle, golf, Kevin Lindo, soccer, Brenda Scott, synchronized swimming, Emily Trenchard, synchronized swimming, Jordan Church, beach volleyball, Kelsey Johnson, beach volleyball, Stephen Epp, volleyball, Jonathan Rose, rowing, Paige Milner, volleyball, Drew Venables, volleyball, Keri Philip, volleyball.

Officials – Greg Bush, athletics, Sue DeSchiffart, athletics, Sherry Heisterman, athletics, Mark Higgins, athletics, Tracy Higgins, athletics; Danusch Patrick, canoe-kayak, Debbie Forbes, equestrian, Sabine Molfenter, equestrian, Barb Parker, equestrian, Anna North, golf, Jacoby Krassman, lacrosse, Sean Lehman, lacrosse, Al Magnan, field lacrosse, Deb Stocks, field lacrosse, Jim Turley, field lacrosse, Craig Rutherford, rowing, Jacob Burnley, soccer, Alexander Hannigan, soccer, Dallas Neibel, soccer, Rick Kitsul, softball, Kelly Landers, softball, Glenda Ferg, synchronized swimming, Michael Provencher, synchronized swimming, Andrew Scott, synchronized swimming, Cheryl Warsh, synchronized swimming, Tanner Champion, towed water sports, Fairn Champion, towed water sports, Chris Rathy, towed water sports.

Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up
Pop-up banner image