Hoop dreams start at elementary school level

We’ll continue our review of the past season by starting with the girls’ basketball playoffs at Nanaimo elementary schools.

As mentioned here last week, basketball at the professional level manages to stay in the sports headlines well into the summer.

The free agency frenzy continued this past week, highlighted by the Houston Rockets signing restricted free agent Jeremy Lin to an offer sheet of $25 million over three years. Although he became an overnight sensation during a run of games back in February, Lin has only made 25 starts, his fame was fleeting and now he’s coming off knee surgery. The Rockets are a wealthy team, but the inflated offer brings new meaning to the term “Linsanity”.

Meanwhile, in the somewhat saner world of local basketball, we’ll continue our review of the past season by starting with the girls’ playoffs in the bantam (born 1998-99) age division in Nanaimo area elementary schools.

Nancy Stern coordinated the league for teams from larger schools with a population of more than 275 students. Post-season playoffs led to a championship title from the squad from Rutherford Elementary. Bringing home the first-place pennant for their school were players Mackenzie Beck, Lauren Benedict, Kenzie Bob, Payton Bray, Jennifer Choi, Julia Clark, Cara Dunlop, Keyana Faber, Nikayla Fleming, Madi Hart, Neda Nateghi, Jessica Ory, Taylor Patenaude, Taylor Skjelstad, Alex Watts, Hope Wilde and Kezia Wright. Coaches for the winning group were Nancy Stern and Gary Gribling.

Runners-up in the final were the Mountain View girls coached by Lenette Zieber and sponsored by Tonia Collins. Team members included Emma Young, Laura Greene, Alexa Bevis, Amy Cooke-Yarborough, Danielle Bordeleau, Taylor Olsen, Megan Epps, Castley Warwick and Lindsay MacDowell.

Pleasant Valley emerged victorious in the consolation final. The team was coached by Donna Gannon and Brian Boas and players on the squad were Hailey Arneson, Mackenzie Boas, Maddie McDonald, Kaesha Milne, Madison Moffatt, Abi O’Neill and Mike Srdic.

A separate league and playoffs were operated for bantam girls’ teams from school enrolling fewer than 275 students. Michael Lundine was the coordinator and he sends word that in the playoff final Davis Road prevailed over Frank J. Ney to take the district title. Doug English and Mike Doyle coached the victorious Davis Road team, consisting of players Gina Cambran, Abby Gait, Madison Doyle, Delaney Hartel, Hannah Ronmark, Olivia Mazurenko, Rachael Minielly, Aurora Breitenstein and Moriah Buffie.

On the runner-up team from Frank J. Ney were players Halle Berry, Trejuanelle Dunbar, Jaidyn Durakovic, Hannah Forster, Caity Hastings, Emily Hoppe, Madison Hoy, Mikayla Kotai, Katelyn Olson and Benett Zawasky. Coaching the team was Wayne Clouthier.

In third place overall came Pauline Haarer Elementary. Mike Lundine provided the coaching for players Sara Strain, Alex Behie, Ocean Chandler-Thornton, Jessica Wilson, Annica Crosby, Moira Greenway, Jessica Johnson, Jenna Falkenberg, O-Lin Metz and Erin O’Sullivan.

In high school ball, the top AAA girls’ team this past season was from Dover Bay Secondary. The Dolphins advanced to the Island Championships in Victoria where they finished in fourth place. At the AA level, the Wellington Wildcats girls’ team went undefeated in league play, won the North Islands, then placed second at the Islands. They then advanced to provincials and finished eighth overall.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Ian Thorpe writes about sports Saturdays.

Just Posted

Janice Coady, left, Aimee Chalifoux and Linda Milford at a vigil for Amy Watts on Wednesday, June 16, outside Nanaimo city hall. (Greg Sakaki/News Bulletin)
‘We need to do better,’ says mother of woman who was killed in Nanaimo

Vigil held for former outreach worker Amy Watts, whose body was found downtown June 3

The B.C. Ministry of Education has announced close to $44 million for the province’s schools for COVID-19 recovery. (News Bulletin file)
Nanaimo-Ladysmith school stakeholders say COVID-19 recovery funding can make a difference

B.C. Ministry of Education announces it expects a ‘near-normal’ return to class in September

Nanaimo artist Melissa Anderson has paintings on display at White Rabbit Coffee Co. for the next month. (Josef Jacobson/News Bulletin)
Nanaimo painter showcases coastal Island views in first exhibit in two years

Melissa Anderson presents ‘Seascapes’ oil painting exhibit at White Rabbit Coffee Co.

New COVID-19 cases on Vancouver Island by local health area for the week of June 6-12. (B.C. Centre for Disease Control image)
New COVID-19 cases up on Island, but health officials say trends going right way

There were 22 new COVID-19 cases in Greater Victoria last week after just four the week before

People line up to get their COVID-19 vaccine at a vaccination centre, Thursday, June 10, 2021 in Montreal. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz
Vaccines, low COVID case counts increase Father’s Day hope, but risk is still there

Expert says people will have to do their own risk calculus before popping in on Papa

The Co-op gas station at Whiskey Creek is burning after a camper van exploded while refueling just before 4 p.m. on Thursday, June 17, 2021. (FACEBOOK PHOTO)
Exploding camper van torches Highway 4 gas station between Qualicum Beach and Port Alberni

Highway traffic blocked after Whiskey Creek gas station erupts into flames

Helen Austin performing with Trent Freeman at the 2018 Vancouver Island MusicFest. Austin is one of the many performers listed for the 2021 event.
Vancouver Island MusicFest goes virtual for 2021

Black Press to stream 25 hours of programming July 9-11

Greater father involvement in the home leads to improved childhood development and increased marital satisfaction, says expert. (Black Press Media file photo)
Vancouver Island researcher finds lack of father involvement a drag on gender equality

Working women still taking on most child and household duties in Canada: UVic professor

FILE – A science class at L.A. Matheson Secondary in Surrey, B.C. on March 12, 2021. (Lauren Collins/Surrey Now Leader)
Teachers’ union wants more COVID transmission data as B.C. prepares for back-to-school

BCTF says that details will be important as province works on plan for September

Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry outlines B.C.’s COVID-19 restart plan, May 25, 2021, including larger gatherings and a possible easing of mandatory masks on July 1. (B.C. government photo)
B.C. records 120 new COVID-19 cases, second vaccines accelerating

Lower Pfizer deliveries for early July, Moderna shipments up

A Heffley Creek peacock caught not one - but two - lifts on a logging truck this month. (Photo submitted)
Heffley Creek-area peacock hops logging trucks in search of love

Peacock hitched two lifts in the past month

The Calgary skyline is seen on Friday, Sept. 15, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jeff McIntosh
2 deaths from COVID-19 Delta variant in Alberta, 1 patient was fully immunized

Kerry Williamson with Alberta Health Services says the patients likely acquired the virus in the hospital

The first suspension bridge is the tallest in Canada, with a second suspension bridge just below it. The two are connected by a trail that’s just over 1 km. (Claire Palmer photo)
PHOTOS: The highest suspension bridges in Canada just opened in B.C.

The Skybridge in Golden allows visitors to take in views standing at 130 and 80 metres

Most Read