Halloween bonspiel a treat

Leagues are well underway and now the first bonspiel of the year, the Halloween Open Spiel, has been held.

It has been a month now since the start of the local curling season. Leagues are well underway and now the first bonspiel of the year, the Halloween Open Spiel, has been held.

Taking over as president of the Nanaimo Curling Club this year is Dave Perpeluk. Assisting him on the executive are first vice-president Linda Torgerson and second vice-president Vic Brice. Sally Noonan is the club secretary, Fred Rumo the treasurer and Ron Kaneen the past president. Also on the club’s board of directors are Mark Duffell, Susan Chepil, George Duffell, Bob Davies and Gary Schenk.

It has become tradition that the first chance to bonspiel comes near the end of October at the annual Halloween Open Spiel. This year the competition happened Oct. 24-26 with 20 teams involved, including several from out of town. In addition to action on the ice, those participating enjoyed a Saturday night banquet and a draw to the button contest won by Maria Guldbransen. And, with Halloween being the theme, of course prizes for the best costumes were also awarded.

As for the actual curling, finals in the bonspiel’s three events were held on the Sunday afternoon, followed by presentation of cash prizes to the top four teams in each event.

The competition’s A event was sponsored by Christensen Collision and resulted in an 8-7 win for the Diane Foster team from Nanaimo over the Qualicum entry skipped by Rod Stewart. Backing Foster on the championship team were third Penny Shantz, second Debbie Pulak and lead Kelly Bleau.

Third place went to skip Mike Kenefick and his team of Teri Palynchuk, Bob Palynchuk, and Elaine Cloutier.

In the bonspiel’s Bill and Marjorie Tegart Memorial B event, all three top teams were local entries.  Taking first place was the foursome of Leslie Shearer, Susan Chepil, Glynis Davis, and Suzanne Grundison. In the final, the Shearer foursome took an 8-7 decision over skip Al Torgerson and his teammates Heather Lindsay-Lecuyer, Kilby Howatt, and John McKay.

Third place went to skip Dave Perpeluk and his team of Fred Rumo, Tammy Keir, and Arlene Rolston.

Competition in the bonspiel’s C event was sponsored by Big O Tires.  Skip Lynne Noble led her Qualicum entry to victory.

Congratulations also go to bonspiel chair Dennis Anderson and his organizing committee of Ellis Tull, Vic Brice, Linda Torgerson, and Al Torgerson for their work in staging a very successful event.

The coming weeks at the Nanaimo Curling Centre are going to be busy with other bonspiels, including the popular annual Hangover League men’s bonspiel scheduled for Nov. 14-16.

For more information on those bonspiels, contact the NCC at 250-753-3474.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.