First bonspiel a positive start

The Nanaimo Curling Centre held its first bonspiel of the season on Oct. 23-25 with the staging of the annual Halloween Open Bonspiel.

Leagues have been up and running for a month now at the Nanaimo Curling Centre, so things are well underway for another local season of the ‘roaring game.’

Linda Torgerson is president of the Nanaimo Curling Club this year, taking over from past-president Dave Perpeluk. First vice-president is Vic Brice and second vice-president is Mark Duffell. Others on the executive are secretary Bob Davies and treasurer Fred Rumo, as well as Brian McRory, Susan Chepil, Andrea Parry, Bruce Connor and George Duffell.

The club held its first bonspiel of the season on Oct. 23-25 with the staging of the annual Sleeman Halloween Open Bonspiel. Continuing a format begun several years ago, the competition allowed for teams with any combination of men and women curlers to enter. A total of 24 rinks took part this year, including several from out of town.

One of those visiting teams was from a long way away, but made the trip worthwhile by winning the bonspiel’s A event, sponsored by Christensen Collision. A touring junior girls’ rink from Korea took part and went undefeated through to the final. There, it faced the other unbeaten team, a Nanaimo entry skipped by Mike Kenefick. The final was an exciting one and came down to an excellent last shot that gave the Koreans a 5-4 win. Players from Korea were Minji Kim, Hye Rin Kim, Taei Yang, Sujin Kim and fifth Ji Yeon Kim. Teammates with Kenefick on the runner-up team were third Margie Blackley, second Bob Palynchuk and lead Jessica Pyett.

Third place in A event went to the team skipped by Lynne Noble.

In the final of the Bill and Marjorie Tegart B event, skip Kim Dennis, third Nicole Backe, second Shannon Ward and lead Marla Guldbransen prevailed in a 6-2 victory over George Duffell and his teammates Heather Lindsay-Lecuyer, Howard Jeglum and Angela Wood. Third place went to the Emily Smith foursome.

Sponsor for the bonspiel’s C event was 460 Realty and the final featured a showdown between teams skipped by Keith Ainsley and Ferdy Hobson. It was the Ainsley squad that prevailed, claiming a 9-6 win. Others on the winning side were third Susan Chepil, second Rick Calgill and lead Barry Lindell. Teammates with Hobson were Keith Clarke, Eilene Mitton and Ken Rafter.

Third place in C event went to Nanaimo Curling Club manager Denise Wood and her team of Burt Gieresiczek, Tammy Keir, Arlene Rolston and Bob Franklin.

Congratulations go also to Kelsey Brown, Angela Butcher and others on the organizing committee. Taking full advantage of the Halloween theme, the bonspiel was by all accounts a fun time for all who took part.

There’s more bonspiel action this coming weekend, as the Nanaimo Curling Centre is hosting a one-day Junior Spiel this Saturday (Nov. 7). Also upcoming is the Hangover League men’s bonspiel, set for Nov. 20-22, and a Masters Open bonspiel on Nov. 25-27.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Just Posted

UPDATED: RDN won’t build new facility for Nanaimo Recycling Exchange

Regional District of Nanaimo announces preliminary support for $300,000 annual funding for NRE

Construction to begin next week on Northfield intersection

Project to be completed by end of year

Reconciliation advisory committee recommended in school district

Nanaimo school board considers striking a new committee to further goal of reconciliation

Sidewalks recommended along Dufferin Crescent

City of Nanaimo’s finance and audit committee recommends $300,000 sidewalk construction project

Products pitched at Dragons’ Den auditions in Nanaimo

Mid Island entrepreneurs audition for chance to appear on popular CBC TV show

Products pitched at Dragons’ Den auditions in Nanaimo

Mid Island entrepreneurs audition for chance to appear on popular CBC TV show

Nanaimo sport awards honour outstanding achievement

Nanaimo Sport Achievement Award winners were announced Friday at gala event at Coast Bastion Hotel

B.C. files new legal action against TransMountain pipeline

Province tries to uphold City of Burnaby bylaws, provoking Alberta

Community can experiment with Science Saturday

Nanaimo Science and Sustainability Society and Island ConnectED host event Saturday, Feb. 17

Beefs & Bouquets, Feb. 15

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail

BCHL Today: Powell River stuns Vernon and BCHL grads lead Team Canada

BCHL Today is a (near) daily look at what’s going on around the league and the junior A world.

Reports of money laundering in B.C. real estate ‘troubling’: attorney general

News report alleges people connected to fentanyl trade are using B.C. real estate to launder money

OLYMPIC ROUNDUP: Two more medals for Canada, and men’s hockey loss

Team Canada shines on the speed skating track, but fall short against the Czechs in hockey

Air ambulance used parking lot for patient transfer because it was most efficient option

Lack of certification for helipad at Comox Valley Hospital not a factor in decision

Most Read