Curling season concludes

We conclude our summary of year-end curling awards this week with a look at results from senior and mixed competition…

We conclude our summary of year-end curling awards this week with a look at results from senior and mixed competition…

First up is the CIBC Wood Gundy senior ladies’ division. Pat Wardrop reports that the winning team from the first square of competition was that of skip Jill McGlenen, third Pat Fraser, second Norma Bewley and lead Jean Kenna. In the second square, skip Kay Warner was victorious, together with third Yvonne Wenaus, second Jean Kenna and lead Eloise Bratkowski.

There was a large turnout of curlers and sponsors at the senior men’s banquet. From the first square of the season for the 55-plus division, winners of the Nanaimo Chrysler Ltd. Trophy were Graeme Cave, Jim Rogers, Fred Mater and Vic Brice. The Quality Foods trophy went to Vic Uniat, Doug Brunton, Wally Funk and Peter Stock.

Second square winners were Gene Klymchuk, Dick Sharples, Bob Hovey and Doug DuFeu, who claimed the Joe Boudot Memorial trophy. The Royal LePage Nanaimo Realty trophy was won by Russ Chase, Norm Fulla, Nick Rvachew and Peter Stock.

Recognized from the third square of competition were Gene Klymchuk, Roger Hermant, Josh Purney and Glen McCord as winners of the Mark’s Import Auto trophy. The foursome of Val Fenton, Dave Scobie, Roy Richmond and Jimmy Patrick took home the Howie Christopherson trophy. Top team from the fourth square of the season was that of Ron Kaneen, Norm Fulla, Bernie Waatainen and Ray Chesin, winners of the Christensen Collision trophy.

Also acknowledged at the banquet were the top teams from the senior men’s 68-plus division. Earning the Petley-Jones & Co. Law Corp. trophy was Sandy Fraser and his team of Ben Sedgewick, Raeto Schmidhauser and Marshall Keller. Winners of the Don MacRae trophy were Ken (Lefty) Best, Henry Rempel, Raeto Schmidhauser and Phil Koett. In the final square of the season, top foursome was Sandy Fraser, Merv Evans, Bert Murray and Kerry Park.

Turning to mixed curling results, coordinator Patty McRory sends word that league play in the Investors Group Friday Mixed League featured extremely close competition. In a tight race, first place on the season went to the team of Barry Hore, Ann Marie Hore, Patty McRory and Brian McRory. Just five points behind came three other teams that tied for second place.

A year-end mini bonspiel wrapped up the season for the Friday Mixed league. In that, A event winners were Ken Hall along with Joan Hall, Cheryl Toole and Tom Weinreich, while the runner-up team consisted of Kevin Kabatoff, Donna Gannon, Jodi Crawford and Darren Dickie.

From the Senior Open Mixed League, coordinator Brian Askin reports that the first square was won by skip Keith Ruthman, third Yvonne Wenaus, second Ted Zemek and lead Karen Shaw. Second place was claimed by the team of Bob Hay, Bob Sizeland, Charlene Petersen and Monique MacKenzie. The second square resulted in a three-way tie, forcing a draw to the button competition to determine placements. As a result, first place was awarded to skip Ken Draper and his team of Sallie Atkinson, Pat Meehan and Charleen Petersen, with second place going to Yvonne Wenaus, Leona Keltie, Joe Bewley and Bette Kobe.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Ian Thorpe writes about sports Saturdays.

Just Posted

Things are looking up for Vancouver Island as zero COVID-19 cases have been reported for the first time since October. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
Island records zero new COVID-19 cases for the first time since October

For the first time since October, the province is reporting zero new… Continue reading

Freighters have becomd abundant in the Trincomali Channel on the east side of Thetis Island.
Nanaimo ponders taking on waste from nearby anchored freighters

Vancouver-based Tymac petitioning the Regional District of Nanaimo to accept waste at its landfill

New Vancouver Island University chancellor Judith Sayers was sworn in at a virtual ceremony June 17. (Submitted photo)
VIU’s new chancellor seeks innovation and equality in post-secondary education

Judith Sayers officially sworn in as Vancouver Island University chancellor

Letter writer suggests ways residents and the municipality can address the problem of litter along the highway. (Stock photo)
LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Don’t add to litter problem

Letter writer who picks up litter along Parkway Trail implores Nanaimo to be tidier

Janice Coady, left, Aimee Chalifoux and Linda Milford at a vigil for Amy Watts on Wednesday, June 16, outside Nanaimo city hall. (Greg Sakaki/News Bulletin)
‘We need to do better,’ says mother of woman killed in Nanaimo

Vigil held for former outreach worker Amy Watts, whose body was found downtown June 3

A small pod of Pacific white-sided dolphins pass by close to shore in Campbell River June 16, 2021. Still capture from video courtesy of Kimberly Hart
VIDEO: Dolphin sunset captured from Vancouver Island shore

Spectacular setting for view of travelling pod of Pacific white-sided dolphins

Karl and Stephanie Ann Johanson were thrilled to spot a pair of Sandhill Cranes in the Panama Flats this month, an unusual appearance for such birds. (Photo by Stephanie Ann Johanson)
WATCH: Sandhill cranes an unusual, joyful sight in South Island parkland

These birds don’t often touch down on their way between northern B.C. and Mexico

(V.I. Trail/Google Maps)
Now 90% complete, Vancouver Island trail forges new funding parnership

Victoria Foundation takes on Vancouver Island Trail Association; fund valued at $40,000

Police are asking for public assistance in locating Anthony Graham who has been charged with the murders of Kamloops brothers Carlo and Erick Fryer. (RCMP photo)
2 charged, suspect at large in killings of B.C. brothers linked to gang activity: RCMP

Kamloops brothers Erick and Carlo Fryer were found deceased in May on a remote Okanagan road

Albert Health Minister Tyler Shandro and Alberta Premier Jason Kenney unveil an opening sign after speaking about the Open for Summer Plan and next steps in the COVID-19 vaccine rollout, in Edmonton, Friday, June 18, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jason Franson
Alberta 1st province in Canada to lift all COVID-19 public health restrictions

70.2% of eligible citizens 12 and older in the province have received a dose of the vaccine

Fraser Health registered nurse Ramn Manan draws a dose of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine into a syringe at a walk-up vaccination clinic at Bear Creek Park, in Surrey, B.C., on Monday, May 17, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
‘Honour our fathers’ with COVID-19 vaccine protection, B.C. urges

109 new cases Friday, 75 per cent of 12 and up immunized

(Paul Henderson/ Chilliwack Progress)
Trutch Avenue in Chilliwack to be renamed to remove racist taint

New name to have Indigenous significance as Chilliwack takes new step toward reconciliation

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is seen during a joint news conference following the EU-Canada Summit, in Brussels, Belgium, Tuesday June 15, 2021. Trudeau says Canada is on track now to have 68 million doses delivered by the end of July, which is more than enough to fully vaccinate all 33.2 million Canadians over the age of 12. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Vaccine deliveries enough to fully vaccinate all eligible Canadians by end of July

Three in four eligible Canadians now have their first dose, nearly one in five fully vaccinated.

Stanley Fischer, right, died while in a Victoria police jail cell hours after he was arrested on Nov. 15, 1981. (Photo courtesy of Mark Fischer)
Victoria police not reopening investigation into man’s 1981 death while in custody

Stanley Fischer’s death was ruled a suicide after he was found in his jail cell

Most Read