Curling centre teams recall terrific season

We complete our review of year-end awards by checking out results from local mixed, senior ladies’ and senior men’s leagues…

One more sweep of the curling broom this week, as we complete our review of year-end awards by checking out results from local mixed, senior ladies’ and senior men’s leagues…

Coordinators for the Friday night Investors Group Mixed League were Patty and Brian McRory and they send word that 26 teams took part this past season. When points for the entire year were added up, the overall aggregate winners for the year was the team of Steve Waatainen, Michelle Waatainen, Angela Price and Keith Clarke.

At the end of the regular season the league held a 2-day mini spiel to wrap things up. In that, Group A winners were Louis and Jan Papp who teamed with Dwayne and Lorna Black as well as Paul and Mary Ellen Konyer. The foursome of Kevin Kabatoff, Donna Gannon, Darren Dickie and Jodi Crawford were victorious in Group B. Group C was won by the team of Darryl and Janine Slater together with Karmen and Tara Yee. Coming out on top of Group D was the entry of Fred and Jennifer Walkosky along with Chuck and Elaine Rowan.

Brian Askin was the organizer of the Wednesday afternoon Senior Mixed League this season. Winning team from the first half of the year was that of skip Carl Buechler, third Sallie Atkinson, second Maureen Draper and lead Doris Olesen. Runners-up were Steen Petersen and his teammates Yvonne Wenaus, Norma Bewley and Kathy Bush.

From the second half of the season, first place went to the foursome of Rod Brown, Kelly Meikle, Brian Askin and Mary Meehan. In second place came skip Sandy Askin and her team of Doug Martin, Maureen Draper and Steen Petersen.

The Monday Senior Ladies’ League also divided their season into two separate halves. Top team from the first half was that of skip Pat Wardrop, third Pat Fraser, second Jean Kenna and lead Corinne Jensen. From the second half, the winning team consisted of skip Dale Coutts, third Shirley Cookman, second Sharon Brown and lead Donna Clift.

The CIBC Wood Gundy Senior Men’s League has 55+ and 68+ divisions and divide the season into four 10-game squares, with teams drawn from a hat for each square. In the 55+ division, the Nanaimo Chrysler Ltd. Trophy was won by the team of Fred Withey, George Taylor, Bill Millward and Garry Stuparyk, while the Quality Foods Trophy went to skip Graeme Cave and his team of Ed Greskow, Gord Smeeton and Barry Marklinger.

From the second square, winners of the Joe Boudot Memorial Trophy were Joe Pirozzini, Bernie Waatainen, Bob Carpenter and Jim Cox. The Royal LePage Nanaimo Realty Trophy was captured by skip Phil Chase together with teammates Bob Larsen, George Schofield and Don Zimmer.

Third square results saw the foursome of Ron Kulai, Nori Nishio, Dave Cutts and Peter Stock claim the Mark’s Import Auto Trophy. Winning the Howie Christopherson Trophy was the team of Phil Chase, Lloyd Learmonth, Merv Osler and Garry Heiman.

In the fourth and final square, the team of Bernie LaFrance, Bob Larsen, Norman Myden and Jimmy Patrick prevailed to take home the Christensen Collision Trophy

Results from the senior men’s 68+ division saw the team of Merv Evans, Henry Rempel, Bert Murray and Marshall Keller win the Petley-Jones & Co. Law Corp. Trophy from the first square of competition. In the second square, skip Ken (Lefty) Best and his team of Doug Wright, Gary Schenk and Kerry Park earned the Don MacRae Trophy. The A.H. (Chic) Johnston Trophy as third square winners went to skip Sandy Fraser and his team of Henry Rempel, Gerry De Groot and Kerry Park. In the final square, Nori Hishio teamed with Harry Whitham, Gerry De Groot and Marshall Keller to claim the Nanaimo Senior Men Directors’ Trophy.

For all local curlers, a reminder that the Nanaimo Curling Club’s Annual General Meeting is set for Wednesday, June 11, starting at 7:30pm.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.