Curlers take last glance back at year

We conclude our summary of year-end curling awards this week with a look at results from senior and mixed competition…

First briefly to the international stage, where Canadian men’s and women’s teams both captured gold medals last weekend at the World Senior Curling Championships held in St. Paul, Minn. On the men’s side of the draw, the Canadian seniors’ team skipped by Mark Johnson of Edmonton stole a point in an extra end to edge the U.S. rink 5-4 for the world title. The Canadian women’s team went undefeated through the competition, advancing to the final where they dominated Sweden 9-2. The new world champions are well known to local curlers, as the squad often plays in the Nanaimo Ladies’ Bonspiel each February as part of their training. Vancouver’s Christine Jurgenson skips the group, with Cheryl Noble from Parksville playing third, Victoria’s Pat Sanders at second and Roselyn Craig from Mill Bay in the lead position.

Locally, we’ll start with the CIBC Wood Gundy senior ladies’ division. Jill McGlenen reports that the winning team from the first square of competition was that of Agnes Geiger, Yvonne Wenaus, Marlene Pomeroy and Shirley Van Oene. Runners-up were Sharon Stonehouse, Pat Clements, Bev Johnston and Sue Ward. Second square winners were skip Marg Obee and her teammates Moyra Graham, Norma McLuckie and Judy Jones. The team of Sharon Stonehoue, Yvonne Wenaus, Susan Lobregt and Annette Dambrowsky were the runners-up. The senior ladies’ Sportsmanship Award for the past season was presented to the team comprised of Mary Trimble, Anne Marie Powell, Phyllis Barr and Maggie Clarke.

There was a large turn-out of curlers and sponsors at the Wood Gundy senior men’s banquet and trophy evening. From the first square of the season, winners of the Nanaimo Chrysler Ltd. trophy were Gene Klymchuk, Merv Osler, Adam Hunter and Jay Belinski. The Quality Foods trophy went to Van Fenton, Cliff King, Lloyd Learmonth and Keith Ruthman.

Second square winners were Ron Dunn, Jim Reiber, Wally Funk and Bruce Farquharson, who claimed the Joe Boudot Memorial trophy. The Royal LePage Nanaimo Realty trophy was won by Brian Scorer, George Duffell, George Gibson and Jake McGlenen.

Recognized from the third square of competition were Gene Klymchuk, Ed Stonehouse, Jack Bready and Adam Hunter as winners of the Mark’s Import Auto trophy. The foursome of Jim Bateman, Merv Osler, Dennis Sirett and Jake McGlenen took home the Howie Christopherson trophy. Top team from the fourth square of the season was that of Ron Kaneen, George Taylor, Wally Funk and Chuck Rogerson, winners of the Christensen Collision trophy.

From the Senior Men’s Team of Choice league, the championship trophy went to skip Val Fenton and his teammates and spares Jim Wilson, Bob Davies, Bernie LaFrance, Don Denton and Gordon Borbandy.

Also acknowledged were the top teams from the three squares of Senior Men’s 68+ curling. Earning the Don MacRae trophy was skip Don Fuller and his team of Henry Remple, Doug Wright and Kerry Park. Winners of the Petley-Jones and Co. Law Corp. trophy were Nori Nishio, Jake Neudorf, Bryan Craddock and Charlie Newman. The A.H. (Chic) Johnston trophy was presented to the rink of Rae Hambly, Jake Neudorf, Bert Murray and Phil Koett. In a special presentation, draw master Ron Kaneen received the John Anderson Award in recognition of his volunteer work on behalf of the senior men’s division.

The Investors Group Friday Mixed League wrapped up with a year-end bonspiel organized by Barry and Ann Marie Hore. In the championship A event final, the team of Gerry Adams, Ruth Thorpe, myself, Naomi Adams and spare Pat Merkel came away with a 7-2 victory. Runners-up were Mike Kenefict, Elaine Clouthier, Don Boudot and Wendy Boudot.

The B event final saw the entry of Gordon Petley-Jones, Laureen Petley Jones, Tanis Wilson and Ken Wilson get past Mike Leduc, Susan Leduc, Annina Cavezza and Brent Smith. In the C final, the foursome of Ron Bennett, Michelle Plamondon, Margie Blackley and Dennis Plamondon downed the rink of Darren Fargo, Sandy Przada, Mike Holmes and Jill Shepherd. Receiving the league trophy as overall point aggregate winners on the year was the team of Shaelyn Rice, Matthew Van Osch, Megan Blake and Alex Denniger.

From the Sunday Night Open League, organizer Carol Ramey sends word that the first-place team was that of skip Tim Wicks and teammates Clyde Wicks, Shaughn Keltie and Brenda Keltie. In second place came Carl Buechler, Steen Petersen, Charlene Petersen and Mark Busby. Finally, Keith Ruthman from the Senior Open Mixed League reports that the top team from the first half of the season was that of Bob Hay, Lorna Ruthman, Norma McLuckie and Mary Crysler. Second-half champs were skip Rae Hambly and his team of Barbara Cox, Ted Grounds and Velma Deines.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

We are experiencing technical difficulties with our commenting platform and hope to be up and running again soon. In the meantime, you can still send us your thoughts on Facebook or Twitter, or submit a letter to the editor.