Curlers off the ice after successful season

NANAIMO – We'll take a final slide onto the curling ice this week, as we conclude our review of local year-end awards…

We’ll take a final slide onto the curling ice this week, as we conclude our review of local year-end awards with a look at mixed and senior leagues…

Tom and Janice Stroman were the coordinators for the Investors Group Friday Mixed League this year and they send word that 26 teams took part, divided into A and B squares of competition. When points for the entire year were added up, the A square winner was skip Mike Kenefick and his team of Elaine Cloutier, Dennis Plamondon and Michelle Plamondon. Tops in B square for the year was the foursome of Ken Hall, Joan Hall, Fred Carter and Margie Carter.

Following the end of league play a wind-up bonspiel was held for league members. In that, the A square winner was the team of Jason White along with Cheryl Toole, Harold Levesque and Lindsey White. B square champs were Ken Albrecht, Isabel Albrecht, Mike Leduc and Susan Leduc.

Brian Askin once again organized the Wednesday afternoon Wood Gundy/Berwick on the Lake Senior Mixed League. He reports that the winning team from the first half of the year was that of skip Terry Miller, third Sallie Atkinson, second Charlene Petersen and lead Brian Askin. Runners-up were Archie McIntosh and his team of Shirley Learmonth, Don Mounce and Lise Starkey.  From the second half of the season, first place went to skip Don Varney along with third Carl Buechler, second Laurie Rear and lead Mary Meehan. In second place came Marj Fenske together with teammates Pat Meehan, Charlene Petersen and Joe Carter-Squire.

The CIBC Wood Gundy Monday Senior Ladies’ League also divided their season into two separate halves. Pat Johnston sends word that first square winners were skip Doris Fergusson, third Sallie Atkinson, second Sharon Stonehouse and lead Shirley Van Oene. From the second square, the winning team consisted of skip Natalka Strilesky, third Andrea Simick, second Laurie Rear and lead Corinne Jensen.

Also sponsored by CIBC Wood Gundy, the Senior Men 55-plus League divided its season into four squares, with two divisions in each and teams drawn from a hat for each square. At the year-end awards banquet, top teams from each square were recognized. From the first square, the Quality Food Trophy went to the team of Gene Klymchuk, George Yelle, Nick Rvachew and Jimmy Patrick, with the Don MacRae Memorial Trophy going to Brian Scorer, Lloyd Learmonth, Ed Stonehouse and Greg Bush.

From the second square, winners of the Joe Boudot Memorial Trophy were Scorer, Barry Sparkes, Roy Richmond and Jim Bond. The Royal LePage Nanaimo Realty Trophy was awarded to McIntosh, Mike Leduc, Nick Rvachew and Roy Efford.

Third square results saw the foursome of Ron Kulai, Larry Oleskiw, Glen McCord and Don Cembella claim the Mark’s Import Auto Trophy. Winning the Christenson Auto Collision Trophy was the team of Fred Withey, Vic Brice, Graham Ramsey and Jim Cox.

In the fourth square, skip Nels Symbaluk and his team of Gord Borbandy, Greg Bush and Duane Ehnes took home the Petley-Jones and Company Trophy, while the Chic Johnston Memorial Trophy went to Bob Hungar, Ed Stonehouse, Rvachew and Mounce. To cap off the award presentations, long-time volunteer Gord Borbandy was named to the John Anderson Honour Roll in recognition of his work for the senior men’s club.

The Mid-Island Co-op Senior Open Rink of Choice League competed on Wednesday afternoons this past season and coordinator Mike Leduc reports that the 12 teams were involved. Top team from league point standings was that of Gordon Petley-Jones, Gerry Adams, Ken Wilson and Larry Frieson and runners up were Bob Chlan and his team of Bob Franklin, Eric McKean and Art Peck. From the cash skins games that were played, the Chlan team came just ahead of the Frank Voysey foursome.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Stilwell begins election race in Parksville-Qualicum

B.C. Liberals incumbent up for re-election as MLA

Best of the City: Breathe easy

Modo Yoga wins Best Yoga Studio category during challenging time for health and wellness businesses

Best of the City: How sweet it is

Burnt Honey Dessert Company serves up city’s favourite desserts

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Help keep customer service workers safe

Remember that people asking you to respect health guidelines are still people, says retail worker

B.C. records 98 more COVID-19 cases, most in Lower Mainland

One new senior home outbreak, Surrey Memorial outbreak over

Best of the City: This year’s winners

Nanaimo News Bulletin presents full results of our 2020 Best of the City readers’ survey

Vancouver Island Tour de Rock riders roll into Parksville Qualicum Beach

Saturday’s schedule includes Port Alberni, Ucluelet and Tofino, followed by Nanaimo on Sunday

PHOTOS: 2nd calf in a month confirmed among Southern Resident killer whale pod

Center for Whale Research said they will eagerly await to observe the calf to evaluate its health

2 British Columbians arrested, 3 at large in massive Alberta drug bust

Eight people are facing 33 charges in what police have dubbed Project Incumbent

97 distressed horses, cats and dogs seized from farm in Princeton

RCMP assisted as BC SPCA executed search warrant

Snuneymuxw artist brings aquatic designs to Nanaimo’s Beban Park pool

Work by artist Eliot White-Hill is being installed at the pool this month

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

Most Read