NEWS BULLETIN file photo

NEWS BULLETIN file photo

Curlers have thrown last rocks of season

It’s a final look back to local curling, catching up on year-end awards from senior and mixed leagues


It’s a final look back to local curling this week, catching up on year-end awards from senior and mixed leagues…

At the senior men’s 55-plus year-end banquet, a number of trophies were handed out for competition through the year. The season was divided into four squares, with new teams drawn from the hat for each square. From the first round of play, winner of the Nanaimo Chrysler Trophy was Darryl Graham along with teammates Rick Kerley, Wes Betz and Hiroshi Kawaguchi. The Branch 256 Legion Trophy went to skip Phil Chase and his team of Jim Boutillier, Ralph Webster and John Fisher.

Second square winners of the Royal LePage Trophy were Don Boudot, Dan Lutz, Wes Betz and Dan Hooper. The Joe Boudot Trophy was claimed by the combined entry of Ron Kulai, Bob Davies, Cliff King, Bill Boyko and Glen McCord.

The Howie Christopherson Trophy from third square was presented to skip Kyle Clifford and his team of Nic Rvachew, Wes Betz and Jim Patrick. Winners of the Mark’s Import Auto Trophy were Larry Oleskiw, Wayne Sutherland, Keith Cameron and McCord.

From the fourth square of competition, the Christensen Collision Trophy went to the team of Bob Larsen, George Duffell, Bernie Waatainen, Bernie Smith and Doug Hammermeister.

The senior men also operated a 16-team league for stick curlers playing two-aside, sponsored by Berwick on the Lake. From the first portion of the season, the top team was King and Brian Scorer, along with spare Jim Bond. The second square of play was won by the team of King and Merv Osler.

Also at the awards night, outgoing president Muir Meredith presented a special longevity award to Dave Scobie, still active in the stick league after starting to curl in 1959. As well, Barry Sparkes received the John Anderson Award in recognition of his contributions to the league.

In the Mid-Island Co-Op seniors’ rink of choice league this season, league champions were the team of Bob Chlan, Frank Voysey, Darryl Graham and Bob Franklin. League coordinator Mike Leduc reports that the Chlan foursome went undefeated in league play with a record of 14-0. Second place in league standings went to Ferdy Hobson, Kulai, Jim Forrester and Vic Brice.

Turning to mixed curling results, Tom and Janice Stromar were coordinators for the IG Wealth Management Friday Mixed League. Winners of the A square competition on the year were skip Mike Kenefick and his team of Michelle Plamondon, Dennis Plamondon and Elaine Cloutier. Second in A square went to the entry consisting of Dwain Black, Lorna Black, Paul Konyer, Mary Ellen Konyer, Dave Wright and Sharon Wright. In B square, top team was that of Kevin Franklin, Doreen Johnson, Dorina Medland and Larry Dudek. Second place was claimed by April Gale-Seixerio, Steve Seixeiro, Susan Chepil and Spencer Leakey.

From the Berwick Senior Open Mixed League, Pat Meehan sends word that the first square of the season was won by Fred Carter, Darlene Schofield, Don Mounce and Sonja Billard, with second place going to Don Hay, Sallie Atkinson, Marla Barnes and Adrian Hewitt. The second square resulted in a title for skip Don Varney and his teammates Bernie Craig, Marla Barnes and Steen Petersen. Runners-up were Boudot, Sheila Barrass, Gilles Parenteau and Neil McFarlane.

Attention now turns to planning for next season. To that end, the Nanaimo Curling Centre’s annual general meeting and election of officers will be held June 12 at 7 p.m. at the club.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Vancouver Island Symphony conductor Pierre Simard is releasing his new synthwave album ‘Plandemic’ on March 5. (Photo courtesy Olivia Simard)
Vancouver Island Symphony conductor releasing side-project EP of electronic music

Pierre Simard, recording as Plan Omega, presents ‘Plandemic’

Two women were arrested in Nanaimo for refusing to wear masks and causing disturbance on a B.C. Ferries vessel. (File photo)
Nanaimo ferry passengers who refused to wear masks and caused disturbance fined $460 each

Incident happened Sunday, Feb. 21, aboard the Queen of Cowichan

Beef to the woman walking two dogs that attacked my two small chihuahua dogs along Estevan Road. I was dragged down the embankment with my dogs. All three of us were pinned against the fence by your dogs with no escape route. Your dogs were on retractable leashes that were not appropriate for their size and weight and you had no control over them at all.
Beefs & Bouquets, Feb. 24

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail

The Port of Nanaimo has signed a 50-year-agreement with DP World around short-sea shipping operations at Duke Point Terminal. (News Bulletin file photo)
Port of Nanaimo and DP World sign 50-year shipping operations agreement

Lease agreement ‘important first step’ in $105-million Duke Point expansion project

A Nanaimo RCMP vehicle in the Woodgrove Centre parking lot. (News Bulletin file photo)
Woman groped by stranger in mall parking lot in Nanaimo

Incident happened near bus loop Saturday, Feb. 20, at about 4:45 p.m.

Dr. Bonnie Henry talk about the next steps in B.C.'s COVID-19 Immunization Plan during a press conference at Legislature in Victoria, B.C., on Friday, January 22, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
456 new COVID-19 cases in B.C., 2 deaths

Since January 2020, 78,278 have tested positive for the novel coronavirus in B.C.

A health-care worker prepares a dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine at a UHN COVID-19 vaccine clinic in Toronto on Thursday, January 7, 2021. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Nathan Denette)
Vaccinating essential workers before seniors in B.C. could save lives: experts

A new study says the switch could also save up to $230 million in provincial health-care costs

(Black Press Media file photo)
B.C. residents can reserve provincial camp sites starting March 8

B.C. residents get priority access to camping reservations in province

Nanaimo’s Joanne Secord is a quarterfinalist in Inked Magazine’s Cover Model Search contest. (Janayh Wright Photography)
50-year-old Nanaimo mom hopes her tattoos will earn her a magazine cover shoot

Joanne Secord on cusp of semifinals in Inked Magazine contest

Nanaimo Courthouse. (News Bulletin file photo)
Motorist sentenced to two years for dangerous driving causing death on Gabriola Island

William Goosman pleaded guilty last fall in connection with incident that killed Jay Dearman

According to a new poll, a majority of Canadians want to see illicit drugs decriminalized. (THE ASSOCIATED PRESS)
Majority of Canadians think it’s high time to decriminalize illicit drugs: poll

More than two-times the B.C. residents know someone who died from an overdose compared to rest of Canada

The late Michael Gregory, 57, is accused of sexually exploiting six junior high students between 1999 and 2005. (Pixabay)
Former Alberta teacher accused of sexually assaulting students found dead in B.C.

Mounties say Michael Gregory’s death has been deemed ‘non-suspicious’

VIDEO: Lynx grabs lunch in Kamloops

A lynx surprises a group of ducks and picks one off for lunch

Most Read