Curlers capture club championships

NANAIMO – Another season is now in the books for local curlers and year-end awards nights have been held.

As mentioned a couple of weeks ago, another season is now in the books for local curlers and year-end awards nights have been held. Among them was an evening to recognize the top men’s teams from the past year.

It was a successful season for skip Jason White and his entry in the Tuesday men’s league. Based on their record over the entire year, the White foursome claimed the league aggregate trophy. As well, White also won the year-end playoffs between teams who had won one of the four squares of A division competition during the season. White had captured two of those squares, with the others claimed by teams led by Mike Kenefick and Dan Allarie. In the final, White prevailed over the Kenefick squad. Sharing success with skip White was third Harold Levesque, second Vern Stephens, lead Bob Franklin and fifth player Harry Noel.

In the playoffs for Tuesday night B square, the four competing teams were skipped by Mich Roy, Frank Voysey, Frank Smith and Jason White. It was Roy versus Smith in the final, with Smith emerging as the playoff winner. Others on the team were third Steve Waatainen, second Garry Smith, lead Gary Howk and fifth player Keith Clarke.

Playoffs from the C square involved the teams led by George Duffell, Frank Voysey, Rick Ringma and Dave Perpeluk, with Ringma downing Duffell in the final. Also on the winning team were Scott MacLean, Lorne Bury and Don Lutes. Teams in D square playoffs were skipped by Dan Bailey, Bob Franklin, Ron Kaneen and Michael Sloan. Sloan and his team of Scott Currie, Dennis Anderson and Vic Brice took top honours thanks to a win over Bailey in the final.

From this past season’s Thursday men’s league, round-robin and aggregate point champions were skip Frank Voysey together with third Brian Cocks, second Vern Stephens, lead Tom Stromar and fifth man Ken Wilson.

In separate A and B square competitions held during the final portion of the season, the A square winners was the team of Ferdy Hobson, Steve Hobson, Mike Redlick and Craig Webb. Tops from B square was the team of Randy Forbes, Scott Forbes, Trevor Shaw and Brad Van Rossum.

This year’s men’s club championship playoffs involved 15 teams from the Tuesday and Thursday leagues. The final came down to a match between teams skipped by Dan Allarie and Mike Kenefick. Allarie struck first with four points in the first end, only to see Kenefick score in six subsequent ends for a 7-4 victory. Others on the championship team were Bob Palynchuk, Mike Pepin and Bill Millward, while Allarie was backed by Doug McGlenen, Matt Merritt and Gerrit Phoenix.

Following the end of league play, a total of fifteen teams took part in a cash mini-spiel for those wishing to extend their season. Both A and B division winners were declared, with the A event won by the team of Jason White, Harold Levesque, Vern Stephens and Bob Franklin. It was 6-4 in the final for the White team over the runner-up team of Frank Smith, Doug McGlenen, Dan Allarie, Bill Shaw and Tony Wright.

Winners of the mini-spiel’s B event were skip Ferdy Hobson and his team of Steve Hobson, Mike Redlick and Craig Webb. Final score was 7-4 for Hobson over the foursome of Mackenzie Pawliuk, Denis Belton, Todd Belton and Russ Pawliuk.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Masks and temperature checks now mandatory to enter Nanaimo’s Woodgrove Centre

Mall says it’s the first in B.C. to put the measures in place

Snuneymuxw, province sign land transfer agreement that includes parts of Mount Benson

First Nation sees economic development opportunities through forestry partnerships

Islands Trust Conservancy gets funding for protection of at-risk species

Conservancy manages habitat for more than 25 plant and animal species at risk

Nanaimo’s Western Edge Theatre returns to the stage in Port Theatre debut

Theatre group presents ‘2 Across,’ described as a ‘middle-aged romantic comedy’

Purebred breeders go for a walk in Nanaimo to show off their dogs

Purebred dog breeders sometimes get a bad rap, says event organizer

COVID-19: 4 more deaths, 366 new cases in B.C. since Friday

A total of 8,208 people in B.C. have tested positive for COVID-19 since January

Group wants Parliament, courts to hold social media to same standard as publishers

Daniel Bernhard made the comments shortly after Friends of Canadian Broadcasting released a research paper

B.C.’s Chase Claypool catches first NFL touchdown pass

Abbotsford grad establishes new record for longest scrimmage TD by a Canadian

B.C. has highest number of active COVID-19 cases per capita, federal data shows

B.C. currently has 1,803 active cases after weeks of COVID-19 spikes in the province

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

181 days gone: Family continues to look for man last seen in RCMP custody 6 months ago

Brandon Sakebow’s last known location was leaving Mission RCMP cell, police say; family has doubts

B.C. unveils new cannabis sales programs to help small, Indigenous growers

Government did not say how it will define small producers, but says nurseries will be included in the policy

Most Read