Basketball teams win school district titles

Georgia Avenue, Frank J. Ney elementary school teams win girls' bantam basketball league championships.

Last week we caught up on recognizing some of the top local basketball squads at the elementary school level from the past season. Boys’ teams were featured last week, so we now turn the spotlight on some talented young girls’ teams…

As was the case with the boys, bantam (born 2000-01) girls’ basketball offered separate leagues for teams from schools with a total population of over 250 students and for those from smaller schools.

Bill Rounis coordinated the league for larger schools. Post-season playoffs led to a district championship for the entry from Georgia Avenue Elementary. Bringing home the first-place pennant for their school were players Sara Kishawi, Jasmine Milburn, Madison Turnbull, Elizabeth Grychuk, Emily Bellerose, Chiara Dulay, Sierra Clark and Jocelyn Powell. Coach for the winning group was Larry Dean.

Teams from Mountain View Elementary earned both second and third places in the district playoffs. On the roster of the second-place squad were players Taya Kirk, Autumn Fraser, Amanda Campbell, Megan Poteryko, Carmen Doumont, Sara Marshall, Hannah Baggott, Maryn Young, Jayden Saywell, Keianne Nowicki, Nicole Wilson and Keme Snaydon.

In third place came the team of Amanda Merner, Kenzie Guild, Maria Gregson, Abbi Chappell, Hannah Proud, Emily Epps, Danielle Norman, Arielle Dupuis, Jamee Hubbard and Ava Johnson. Tonia Collins was the sponsor for both teams, while coaching duties were shared by Glenn Johnson, Rachel Kirk, Jennifer Merner, Maddy Dawson and Ryan Doumont.

Claiming the fourth-place pennant were the girls representing Forest Park.

Looking after the elementary league for girls’ basketball in smaller schools was Michael Lundine and he sends word that in the playoff final Frank J. Ney prevailed over Pauline Haarer to take the district title. On the victorious Ney squad were players Woojin Kim, Kim McDonald, Nadia Pizzingrill, Victoria Sunnar, Angela Webber, Victoria Weiss, Larissa Hubka, Pariya Sadeghi, Jensen Schmidt and Katelyn Robertson.

On the court representing Pauline Haarer were Cassandra Hartwich, Kendra Falkenberg, Maddy Jones, Ivy Hamer, Nora Rainboth, Mikaella Payne, Alexis Sokoloski, Aiden Mayhew, Sam Hall, Sessaly Buck and Nicola McColl. Coaching the team was Michael Lundine.

In third place overall came the entry from Cilaire Elementary. At that school, Mike Silverton coached players Jasmine Wilkinson, Erin Jensen, Kiana Hodge, Jade Bodner, Lisa Deptuck, Jesse Park, Jessie Allen and Ashley King.

The bantam girls representing Seaview took fourth in the district playoffs.

And with the above teams now acknowledged, the Thorpe Report is going to take a break for a few weeks to enjoy our summer sun.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

Just Posted

A section of the rail corridor on Vancouver Island. (Black Press file photo)
LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Put rail trail right overtop of the tracks

Removing tracks would be a horrendous expense, says letter writer

District of Lantzville Mayor Mark Swain, left, and Snaw-Naw-As Chief Gordon Edwards sign a memorandum of understanding outside Snaw-Naw-As Market on Friday, June 18. (Greg Sakaki/News Bulletin)
Lantzville and Snaw-Naw-As sign memorandum of understanding

District and First Nation create joint working group

Things are looking up for Vancouver Island as zero COVID-19 cases have been reported for the first time since October. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
Island records zero new COVID-19 cases for the first time since October

For the first time since October, the province is reporting zero new… Continue reading

Black Press file photo
RCMP seek suspect in Vancouver Island-wide crime spree

Crimes stretched from Deep Bay to Qualicum, Ladysmith, Chemainus and Youbou

Tilray announces new line of products offering more inexpensive choices for medical cannabis users. (News Bulletin file photo)
Nanaimo-based Tilray launches new medical cannabis product line

Symbios brand products offered at ‘better price point’ for medical cannabis products

A small pod of Pacific white-sided dolphins pass by close to shore in Campbell River June 16, 2021. Still capture from video courtesy of Kimberly Hart
VIDEO: Dolphin sunset captured from Vancouver Island shore

Spectacular setting for view of travelling pod of Pacific white-sided dolphins

Janice Coady, left, Aimee Chalifoux and Linda Milford at a vigil for Amy Watts on Wednesday, June 16, outside Nanaimo city hall. (Greg Sakaki/News Bulletin)
‘We need to do better,’ says mother of woman killed in Nanaimo

Vigil held for former outreach worker Amy Watts, whose body was found downtown June 3

Central Okanagan Grade 12 grads are set to get $500 each after a more than $1 million donation from a Kelowna couple. (File photo)
B.C. couple donating $500 to every Grade 12 student in the Okanagan

Anonymous donors identified as Kelowna entrepreneurs Lance and Tammy Torgerson

Rita Coolidge played the main stage at Vancouver Island Musicfest in 2017. (Black Press file photo)
This year’s Vancouver Island MusicFest to virtually showcase beauty of Comox Valley

Returning July 9 through 11 with more than 25 hours of music performances

British Columbia’s premier says he’s received a second dose of the Oxford-AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine. (Twitter/John Horgan)
B.C. premier gets 2nd dose of AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine

John Horgan shared a photo of himself on social media Friday afternoon holding a completed vaccination card

A lotto Max ticket is shown in Toronto on Monday Feb. 26, 2018.THE CANADIAN PRESS
No winning ticket sold for Friday’s $70 million Lotto Max jackpot

The huge jackpot has remained unclaimed for several weeks now

The B.C. Ministry of Education has announced close to $44 million for the province’s schools for COVID-19 recovery. (News Bulletin file)
Nanaimo-Ladysmith school stakeholders say COVID-19 recovery funding can make a difference

B.C. Ministry of Education announces it expects a ‘near-normal’ return to class in September

Regional District of Nanaimo is looking to repair sewage pipe in the Hammond Bay Road area, which was corroded by gas. (Black Press file)
Corroded sewer pipe along Nanaimo’s Hammond Bay Road will cost $5.5 million to fix

Pipe replacement and reinforcement part of $6.9-million infrastructure project

Most Read