NEWS BULLETIN file photo

NEWS BULLETIN file photo

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Nanaimo’s ex-CAO says she’s being targeted

Tracy Samra says release of confidential information was meant to damage her reputation

To the editor,

My departure as CAO of the city and subsequent silence on my part has not stopped a small group of Nanaimo citizens from continuing to spread hateful, misleading stories about me. I feel compelled to correct the public record.

I will not comment specifically on the events of Jan. 31, 2018, as my complaint against the city, former Mayor McKay and Coun. Sheryl Armstrong will be heard by the Human Rights Tribunal in May 2020, the proper forum to address those events.

There has been no fraud or financial misconduct on my part. KPMG’s annual city audits and a forensic audit make that clear. KPMG concluded the city permitted elected officials and staff to make personal transactions provided they reimbursed the city. Stories about my transactions fail to mention council authorized personal expenses following the assault on me in 2017 or that my purchase-card use fell within approved and acceptable norms.

SOFI expense reports disclosed I incurred legal fees responding to frivolous and vexatious complaints by members of council and their civic supporters. During my tenure, more than 20 complaints were filed against me with the province, Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner, Local Government Management Association of B.C., Law Society of B.C., and the City of Nanaimo. I remain in good standing with my professional organizations.

The targeted release of confidential information to social media and to a local provincial politician was for the sole purpose of damaging my reputation. These fabricated stories and talking points were repeated so many times that people believed they were true. The co-ordinated misinformation and vitriol on Facebook groups and a civic news blog leaves a permanent and damaging record of lies. They often said “you can’t make this stuff up,” but in fact, they did.

I thank folks at School District 68, the Port of Nanaimo, Snuneymuxw First Nation, VIU, and community members for their kindness. I am proud of the contributions we made together for the city during my tenure as CAO.

Tracy Samra, Coast Salish territory

RELATED: Case against ex-CAO Samra dropped, ‘no longer in the public interest’

RELATED: Ex-CAO Tracy Samra lodges human rights complaint against City of Nanaimo

RELATED: City auditor finds deficiencies in expense reporting, whistleblower policies


The views and opinions expressed in this letter to the editor are those of the writer and do not reflect the views of Black Press or the Nanaimo News Bulletin. If you have a different view, we encourage you to write to us or contribute to the discussion below.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Terry David Mulligan. (Submitted photo)
AUDIO: Interview with broadcaster and Island resident Terry David Mulligan

PQBeat podcast asks Nanoose Bay resident about radio and TV career, wine and more

Paige Karczynski is the new executive director of Nanaimo Community Hospice Society. (Photo submitted)
New executive director leading Nanaimo hospice at a time when grief counselling is greatly needed

Paige Karczynski takes over as Nanaimo Community Hospice Society begins its 40th year

The site of the former Arrowview Hotel, on Second Avenue and Athol Street, as of Jan. 14, 2020. (Elena Rardon/Black Press)
Port Alberni pressures owner of demolished hotel, Lantzville’s Pottie, for final cleanup

Demolition finished in June 2020 but site still full of construction material

Letter writers weigh in on the City of Nanaimo adopting ‘doughnut’ economics as a guiding principle for decision-making.
LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: City of Nanaimo’s ‘doughnut’ has to be more than empty calories

Letter writers react to city council’s recent decision to adopt ‘doughnut’ economic model

A scene from “Canada and the Gulf War: In their own words,” a video by The Memory Project, a program of Historica Canada, is shown in this undated illustration. THE CANADIAN PRESS/HO - Historica Canada
New video marks Canada’s contributions to first Gulf War on 30th anniversary

Veterans Affairs Canada says around 4,500 Canadian military personnel served during the war

The new Malahat Skywalk is expected to be completed by this summer. (Submitted graphic)
Malahat Skywalk expected to be complete by this summer

$15-million project will see 650-metre elevated wooden pathway constructed

U.S. military units march in front of the Capitol, Monday, Jan. 18, 2021 in Washington, as they rehearse for President-elect Joe Biden’s inauguration ceremony, which will be held at the Capitol on Wednesday. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)
Biden aims for unifying speech at daunting moment for U.S.

President Donald Trump won’t be there to hear it

Williams Lake physician Dr. Ivan Scrooby and medical graduate student Vionarica Gusti hold up the COSMIC Bubble Helmet. Both are part of the non-profit organization COSMIC Medical which has come together to develop devices for treating patients with COVID-19. (Monica Lamb-Yorski photo - Williams Lake Tribune)
Group of B.C. doctors, engineers developing ‘bubble helmet’ for COVID-19 patients

The helmet could support several patients at once, says the group

A still from surveillance footage showing a confrontation in the entranceway at Dolly’s Gym on Nicol Street on Friday morning. (Image submitted)
Troublemaker in Nanaimo fails at fraud attempt, slams door on business owner’s foot

VIDEO: Incident happened at Dolly’s Gym on Nicol Street on Friday morning

A health-care worker prepares a dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine at a UHN COVID-19 vaccine clinic in Toronto on Thursday, January 7, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Nathan Denette
COVID-19: Provinces work on revised plans as Pfizer-BioNTech shipments to slow down

Anita Anand said she understands and shares Canadians’ concerns about the drug company’s decision

Conservative Leader Erin O’Toole holds a press conference on Parliament Hill, in Ottawa on December 10, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
No place for ‘far right’ in Conservative Party, Erin O’Toole says

O’Toole condemned the Capitol attack as ‘horrifying’ and sought to distance himself and the Tories from Trumpism

Jackie Hildering, whale researcher with the Marine Education and Research Society, and Nanaimo Area Land Trust will present the Return of Giants, a webinar about the humpback whales’ return from the brink of extinction and how boaters can help protect them. (Jackie Hildering/MERS photo taken under Marine Mammal License MML-42)
‘Return of the Giants:’ B.C. getting a second chance to coexist with humpback whales

‘Marine Detective’ partners with Nanaimo stewardship group on webinar

Tourists take photographs outside the British Columbia Legislature in Victoria, B.C., on Friday August 26, 2011. A coalition of British Columbia tourism industry groups is urging the provincial government to not pursue plans to ban domestic travel to fight the spread of COVID-19. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
B.C. travel ban will harm struggling tourism sector, says industry coalition

B.C. government would have to show evidence a travel ban is necessary

Most Read