Opinion

The T-33 was used in the Korean War, but is a mainstay at airshows across North America these days. My flight suit awaits. (Jessica Peters/Abbotsford News)

COLUMN: Black Press reporter straps into old fighter jet at Abbotsford Airshow

‘Used in the Korean War 70 years ago, the T-33 is one of my favourite aircraft to watch in flight’

Letter writer wonders why Metral Drive was chosen for road upgrades ahead of other Nanaimo streets. (News Bulletin photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Nanaimo’s roadwork projects don’t seem to follow any logical order

Letter writer wonders why Metral Drive received upgrades before other deficient streets

  • Aug 6, 2022
This is no time for local governments to advocate for resurrection of this rail line which the taxpayers of B.C. do not support, says letter writer. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Voice objection to restoring rail

Support for rail a misguided priority in these economic times, says letter writer

  • Aug 7, 2022
Beef to my close neighbours. I heard you get a puppy and play with it a lot during the beginning of the COVID pandemic. Then it seemed you eventually started going out more. Your puppy had such separation anxiety it was yelping for hours. Please give the dog to someone who will spend time with it.

Beefs & Bouquets, Aug. 3

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com

  • Aug 3, 2022
Beef to my close neighbours. I heard you get a puppy and play with it a lot during the beginning of the COVID pandemic. Then it seemed you eventually started going out more. Your puppy had such separation anxiety it was yelping for hours. Please give the dog to someone who will spend time with it.
A Chilliwack Military Education Centre tank crushing cars is scheduled to be on display at the Chilliwack Fair on all three days, Aug. 5, 6 and 7, 2022. (Chilliwack Fair Facebook)

OPINION: Chilliwack Fair’s display of tank crushing cars deemed ‘insensitive’ in light of Ukraine war

Chilliwack has a proud military history but military tanks shouldn’t be crushing civilian vehicles

A Chilliwack Military Education Centre tank crushing cars is scheduled to be on display at the Chilliwack Fair on all three days, Aug. 5, 6 and 7, 2022. (Chilliwack Fair Facebook)
A ferry arrives at Horseshoe Bay near West Vancouver, B.C. Monday, March 16, 2020. British Columbia’s health and safety agency for workers has imposed a hefty fine on BC Ferry Services Inc. over the death of one of its workers in June 2020.THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

CAMERON: Can a new captain at BC Ferries set the ship straight?

Joy McPhail moves on to herculean challenge of fixing problem-plagued BC Ferries

A ferry arrives at Horseshoe Bay near West Vancouver, B.C. Monday, March 16, 2020. British Columbia’s health and safety agency for workers has imposed a hefty fine on BC Ferry Services Inc. over the death of one of its workers in June 2020.THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Beef to the man with a German shepherd dog and a truck who would not help us get safely out of the trail when we said we were in real physical trouble and could not walk back out.

Beefs & Bouquets, July 27

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com

  • Jul 27, 2022
Beef to the man with a German shepherd dog and a truck who would not help us get safely out of the trail when we said we were in real physical trouble and could not walk back out.
Nanaimo’s developer-friendly council further encourages that disconnect between incomes and the cost of buying or renting, says letter writer. (Stock image)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: City’s rapid development disconnected with housing affordability

Development boom will push home prices and rents beyond local incomes, says letter writer

  • Jul 30, 2022
Nanaimo’s developer-friendly council further encourages that disconnect between incomes and the cost of buying or renting, says letter writer. (Stock image)
The City of Nanaimo has approved a plan that would involve eliminating all of Commercial Street’s curbs and making the space more versatile with what the city is calling call ‘flex zones.’ (City of Nanaimo image)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Areas of Nanaimo outside the downtown need attention

Commercial Street getting new sidewalks as other parts of town go without, notes letter writer

  • Jul 28, 2022
The City of Nanaimo has approved a plan that would involve eliminating all of Commercial Street’s curbs and making the space more versatile with what the city is calling call ‘flex zones.’ (City of Nanaimo image)
Single-use plastic bag ban coming for all of Canada soon. (Canadian Press photo/Paul Chaisson)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Plastic use shouldn’t be regulated

Plastic waste is the landfill’s problem, says letter writer

  • Jul 31, 2022
Single-use plastic bag ban coming for all of Canada soon. (Canadian Press photo/Paul Chaisson)
The Canadian flag blows in the wind as 20 members of CFB Comox run with the Olympic Torch past the base at CFB Comox, B.C., in 2009. (Jonathan Hayward/Canadian Press)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Now isn’t the time for Olympic bid

Former Nanaimo mayor suggests that B.C. and Canada prioritize facing more pressing problems

  • Jul 30, 2022
The Canadian flag blows in the wind as 20 members of CFB Comox run with the Olympic Torch past the base at CFB Comox, B.C., in 2009. (Jonathan Hayward/Canadian Press)
The Best of the City survey and related contest closes end of day Aug. 2. (News Bulletin image)
The Best of the City survey and related contest closes end of day Aug. 2. (News Bulletin image)
Nanaimo City Hall. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Taxes need to be high enough to keep city humming along

Everything costs more these days, says letter writer

  • Jul 23, 2022
Nanaimo City Hall. (News Bulletin file photo)
Train tracks in Nanaimo. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Connect the dots, make rail a reality

Rail improvements will cost money, but so will alternatives, says letter writer

  • Jul 23, 2022
Train tracks in Nanaimo. (News Bulletin file photo)
I needed other people to know about this gentleman’s kindness, says bouquet writer.

Beefs & Bouquets, July 20

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com

  • Jul 20, 2022
I needed other people to know about this gentleman’s kindness, says bouquet writer.
To submit a letter to the editor, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com. Include your first and last name or initials and a last name, and your city of residence. Letters will be edited.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Nicol Street needs sprucing up

This is what visitors to our city see first as they enter our city limits, says letter writer

  • Jul 16, 2022
To submit a letter to the editor, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com. Include your first and last name or initials and a last name, and your city of residence. Letters will be edited.
Nanaimo city councillors, at a governance and priorities meeting this summer, heard how inflation, skilled labour shortages and supply chain delays are driving construction projects well over budget and forcing delays. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: With construction costs rising, every project matters

Unwanted and unneeded amenities eating up tax dollars, says letter writer

  • Jul 16, 2022
Nanaimo city councillors, at a governance and priorities meeting this summer, heard how inflation, skilled labour shortages and supply chain delays are driving construction projects well over budget and forcing delays. (News Bulletin file photo)
School trustees can make a difference for students in their district, and more people should consider putting their names forward or at least vote in the fall election, says B.C. School Trustees Association CEO. (Stock photo)

OPINION: Fall election can make a difference for school kids

B.C. School Trustees Association CEO urges participation in local government election

  • Jul 15, 2022
School trustees can make a difference for students in their district, and more people should consider putting their names forward or at least vote in the fall election, says B.C. School Trustees Association CEO. (Stock photo)
Beef to the person living near Uplands Drive who shouted she would poison my dogs for barking. We try to keep our dogs from barking, plus you rarely hear them late or early.

Beefs & Bouquets, July 13

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com

  • Jul 13, 2022
Beef to the person living near Uplands Drive who shouted she would poison my dogs for barking. We try to keep our dogs from barking, plus you rarely hear them late or early.
It’s time to apply pressure on elected officials to act on climate transition, says letter writer. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Extreme heat should lead to climate action

We should be connecting the dots between climate change and heat domes, suggests letter writer

  • Jul 12, 2022
It’s time to apply pressure on elected officials to act on climate transition, says letter writer. (News Bulletin file photo)