Opinion

News Bulletin file photo

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Bike lanes inexpensive compared with roads

It is a myth that car drivers are subsidizing cyclists or pedestrians, says letter writer

  • Mar 8, 2021
March 8 is International Women’s Day. (Stock photo)

Editorial: International Women’s Day can inspire us to recommit to equality

Let’s call out sexism, amplify feminism and keep working toward equality

A concept for development of the Green Thumb property in north Nanaimo. (Barefoot Planning and Design image)

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Develop land with care and thought

It’s getting to the point that you can’t go a block without seeing more apartments, says letter writer

  • Mar 6, 2021
Regenerative farming that meets genuine needs should take priority over commercial recklessness, says columnist. (Stock photo)

Column: Hubris, greed causing humans to live destructively

Placing the economy as the top priority is licence to destroy natural systems, says columnist

  • Mar 6, 2021
Regenerative farming that meets genuine needs should take priority over commercial recklessness, says columnist. (Stock photo)
Nanaimo Courthouse. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Justice system is failing us

Crime rampant, police overworked, businesses targeted, citizens unsafe, says letter writer

  • Mar 6, 2021
Nanaimo Courthouse. (News Bulletin file photo)
Protesters march on Nanaimo’s Commercial Street last September, calling for greater protection of B.C.’s old-growth forests. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: More old growth needs protecting

Public support for protecting old-growth forests is evident, says letter writer

  • Mar 4, 2021
Protesters march on Nanaimo’s Commercial Street last September, calling for greater protection of B.C.’s old-growth forests. (News Bulletin file photo)
video
Sports car crashes into lamp post, rolls down hill behind Nanaimo mall
There are fresh fish to catch in Nanaimo's lakes
One person hurt as pickup and compact car crash at Bowen and Wakesiah
Nanaimo Art Gallery exhibit explores the ways people think about place
Beef to the plow driver who completely soaked me in dirty slush at the bus stop at Fifth and Hillcrest. I could tell you were driving quite fast so I tried to back up as far as the snowbank would allow but you did not slow down. I am 68 and had to pick up a prescription and had no choice but to continue on soaking wet.

Beefs & Bouquets, March 3

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com

  • Mar 3, 2021
Beef to the plow driver who completely soaked me in dirty slush at the bus stop at Fifth and Hillcrest. I could tell you were driving quite fast so I tried to back up as far as the snowbank would allow but you did not slow down. I am 68 and had to pick up a prescription and had no choice but to continue on soaking wet.
FILE  - In this Friday, Jan 1, 2021 file photo, a lorry driver's documents are scanned on a phone as he passes a checkpoint for the train through the Eurotunnel link with Europe in Folkestone, England. One month after Britain made a New Year split from the European Union's economic embrace, businesses that once traded freely are getting used to frustrating checks, delays and red tape. Meat exporters say shipments have rotted in trucks awaiting European health checks. Scottish fishermen have protested at Parliament over the catch they can no longer sell to the continent because of byzantine new paperwork. (AP Photo/Frank Augstein, File)

FINLAYSON: Government should focus on strengthening B.C.’s leading export industries

To revive the economy, this piece in the strategy is integral, writes Jock Finlayson

  • Mar 1, 2021
FILE  - In this Friday, Jan 1, 2021 file photo, a lorry driver's documents are scanned on a phone as he passes a checkpoint for the train through the Eurotunnel link with Europe in Folkestone, England. One month after Britain made a New Year split from the European Union's economic embrace, businesses that once traded freely are getting used to frustrating checks, delays and red tape. Meat exporters say shipments have rotted in trucks awaiting European health checks. Scottish fishermen have protested at Parliament over the catch they can no longer sell to the continent because of byzantine new paperwork. (AP Photo/Frank Augstein, File)
Pet owners are leaving more dog waste than ever before on Nanaimo’s paths and trails, says letter writer. (Stock photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Dog owners need to pick up after their pets

Letter writer says he’s ‘disgusted’ by dog walkers not picking up their dog waste

  • Feb 27, 2021
Pet owners are leaving more dog waste than ever before on Nanaimo’s paths and trails, says letter writer. (Stock photo)
(Northern Vancouver Island Tourism/Steven Fines)

OP-ED: 1 year into pandemic, B.C.’s tourism sector hopes for a light at the end of the tunnel

Only about 17 per cent of businesses have been operating as usual in B.C.

  • Feb 26, 2021
(Northern Vancouver Island Tourism/Steven Fines)
Team Canada supporters watch a men’s hockey game on a TV screen at Diana Krall Plaza in February 2010. (News Bulletin file photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Hopefully B.C. hosts Olympics again someday

Letter writer reminisces about 2010 Winter Games and the spirit they brought to the city

  • Feb 26, 2021
Team Canada supporters watch a men’s hockey game on a TV screen at Diana Krall Plaza in February 2010. (News Bulletin file photo)
Beef to the woman walking two dogs that attacked my two small chihuahua dogs along Estevan Road. I was dragged down the embankment with my dogs. All three of us were pinned against the fence by your dogs with no escape route. Your dogs were on retractable leashes that were not appropriate for their size and weight and you had no control over them at all.

Beefs & Bouquets, Feb. 24

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com

  • Feb 24, 2021
Beef to the woman walking two dogs that attacked my two small chihuahua dogs along Estevan Road. I was dragged down the embankment with my dogs. All three of us were pinned against the fence by your dogs with no escape route. Your dogs were on retractable leashes that were not appropriate for their size and weight and you had no control over them at all.
Views of Nanaimo, Newcastle Channel and the Strait of Georgia from the Nanaimo Parkway. (Chris Bush/News Bulletin)

Editorial: We have a say in how our city of 100,000 grows

City of Nanaimo wants to hear from residents as transition from small town to big city continues

Views of Nanaimo, Newcastle Channel and the Strait of Georgia from the Nanaimo Parkway. (Chris Bush/News Bulletin)
Start transitioning away from the oil industry, says letter writer. (News Bulletin photo)

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Disincentivize fossil fuel development

Subsidies could transfer gradually to clean energy, suggests letter writer

  • Feb 21, 2021
Start transitioning away from the oil industry, says letter writer. (News Bulletin photo)
The Green Thumb property in north Nanaimo. (Barefoot Planning and Design)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: City should have tried to buy land to save as green space

Letter writer sees park potential for private property worth close to $25 million

  • Feb 19, 2021
The Green Thumb property in north Nanaimo. (Barefoot Planning and Design)
Cats want to go outside for the same reason you do: to lie in the sun, explore and maybe meet their buddies, says letter writer. (Stock photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: A life confined indoors won’t be as fulfilling for cats

We are getting far too paranoid about every little potential danger, says letter writer

  • Feb 19, 2021
Cats want to go outside for the same reason you do: to lie in the sun, explore and maybe meet their buddies, says letter writer. (Stock photo)
Beef to the bakery. After buying a dozen cookies and two pieces of cake I paid for with my debit card, I asked for a bag to carry it as I was walking with two young kids and had to hold their hands. I was told five cents. I didn’t have change so I gave back my debit card. She said “I can’t use that for a small order.” I said I don’t have any change. Then she just walked away.

Beefs & Bouquets, Feb. 17

To submit a beef or a bouquet to the Nanaimo News Bulletin, e-mail editor@nanaimobulletin.com

  • Feb 17, 2021
Beef to the bakery. After buying a dozen cookies and two pieces of cake I paid for with my debit card, I asked for a bag to carry it as I was walking with two young kids and had to hold their hands. I was told five cents. I didn’t have change so I gave back my debit card. She said “I can’t use that for a small order.” I said I don’t have any change. Then she just walked away.
David Black speaks at a 2017 news conference urging B.C. to bid on the 2022 Commonwealth Games, after serving as a director for the 1994 event hosted by Victoria. (Black Press Media files)

OP-ED: B.C. tourism needs a boost from 2026 Commonwealth Games

‘Far more profitable’ than 1994 event hosted by Victoria

  • Feb 17, 2021
David Black speaks at a 2017 news conference urging B.C. to bid on the 2022 Commonwealth Games, after serving as a director for the 1994 event hosted by Victoria. (Black Press Media files)
Emergency crews at a collision in the B.C. Interior in which an 84-year-old motorist and an 87-year-old motorist were injured. (Black Press file photo)

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Senior motorists take fewer risks

Seniors less likely to be speeding or driving impaired or distracted, says letter writer

  • Feb 15, 2021
Emergency crews at a collision in the B.C. Interior in which an 84-year-old motorist and an 87-year-old motorist were injured. (Black Press file photo)
In this Dec. 18, 2020 photo, pipes to be used for the Keystone XL pipeline are stored in a field near Dorchester, Neb. THE CANADIAN PRESS/AP-Chris Machian

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Canada should transition away from fossil fuels

Federal government should focus on training workers for jobs in a clean economy, say letter writers

  • Feb 14, 2021
In this Dec. 18, 2020 photo, pipes to be used for the Keystone XL pipeline are stored in a field near Dorchester, Neb. THE CANADIAN PRESS/AP-Chris Machian