Snuymuxw First Nation logo. (NEWS BULLETIN file photo)

Snuymuxw First Nation logo. (NEWS BULLETIN file photo)

Snuneymuxw First Nation shuffles leadership with council election

Three incumbents return as five of 10 council seats contested

Snuneymuxw voters chose council representatives to join the First Nation’s leadership group for the next four years.

An election was held Saturday and the councillors elected were Kate Good, Bill Yoachim, Regan Seward, Darren Good and Isaac Thomas.

There were 20 candidates on the ballot and incumbent Kate Good led the polls with 251 votes. Seward and Thomas were other incumbents re-elected. Incumbent Doug White II was not re-elected and Doug White III did not pursue re-election.

Snuneymuxw First Nation holds elections every two years, with the chief elected to a four-year term and half of the 10 council seats contested each election.

Other members of Snuneymuxw council include Chief Michael Wyse and councillors Chris Good, Emmy Manson, Erralyn Joseph, Paul Wyse-Seward and Joe White, Jr.

Results of Saturday’s vote: Kate Good, 251 votes; Bill Yoachim, 233; Regan Seward, 181; Darren Good, 166; Isaac Thomas, 138; Gary Smith, 121; John White, 119; Wanda Good, 117; Margaret White, 113; Doug White II, 105; Geraldine Manson, 94; Charlene Paul, 66; Elizabeth Good, 65; Junior White, 60; Terena Ross, 57; Bridget White, 54; Al White, 52; Elias Wyse, 48; Steven Manson, 33; James Johnny, 28.

474 ballots were cast.

Snaw-Naw-As election next month

The Snaw-Naw-As First Nation, meanwhile, will hold its general election Jan. 16. Chief Gordon Edwards will be seeking re-election, with Christopher Bob, Kristen Bob, Samuel Bob and Cheryl Jones also up for election as chief. Council candidates include incumbents Brent Edwards, Natasha Bob and Tom Bob, as well as Barbara Baltrop, Charles Bob, Christopher Bob, Mallory Bob, Marissa Bob, James Edwards and Cheryl Jones. Current councillor Lawrence Mitchell is not seeking re-election.

Snaw-Naw-As First Nation holds general elections every three years.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Rick Morgan, Nanaimo Search and Rescue building director, and Carly Trobridge, president and search manager, turn sod to kick off the start of renovations to NSAR’s headquarters Tuesday, Jan. 26. (Chris Bush/News Bulletin)
Nanaimo Search and Rescue getting started on $2.6-million makeover at Harewood headquarters

Renovation project will increase space for vehicles and improve training and management operations

Island Health chief medical officer Dr. Richard Stanwick receives a first dose of Pfizer vaccine, Dec. 22, 2020. (B.C. government)
COVID-19: Vancouver Island in a January spike while B.C. cases decrease

Island’s top doc Dr. Stanwick breaks down the Island’s rising numbers

A downed power line has sparked a brush fire along Yellow Point Road south of Nanaimo. (Cole Schisler/Black Press)
Downed hydro line sparks brush fire in Yellow Point

North Oyster firefighters and B.C. Hydro on scene along Yellow Point Road

A concrete seawall built to prevent erosion on a property on Driftwood Drive on Mudge Island. (Islands Trust image)
Appeal Court says Mudge Island homeowners’ seawall has to go

Court decides right to guard against erosion isn’t a ‘privileged’ property right

McDonald’s on Nicol Street in Nanaimo. (News Bulletin file photo)
McDonald’s in Nanaimo reports COVID-19 case

Employee at Nicol Street location last worked Jan. 17

Dr. Penny Ballem, a former deputy health minister, discusses her role in leading B.C.’s COVID-19 vaccination program, at the B.C. legislature, Jan. 22, 2021. (B.C. government)
B.C. holds steady with 407 new COVID-19 cases Tuesday

14 deaths, no new outbreaks in the health care system

A Cessna 170 airplane similar to the one pictured above is reported to be missing off the waters between Victoria and Washington State. Twitter photo/USCG
Canadian, American rescue crews searching for missing aircraft in waters near Victoria

The search is centered around the waters northeast of Port Angeles

The North Cowichan/Duncan RCMP have arrested a prolific offender who is now facing more than 40 charges. (Black Press file photo)
‘Priority offender’ arrested in Cowichan Valley faces more than 40 charges

Tyler Elrix, 37, had a history of evading police; was ordered not to be in Vancouver Island

B.C. Premier John Horgan listens during a postelection news conference in Vancouver on Sunday, Oct. 25, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
30% of B.C. recovery benefit applications held up in manual review

The province says 150 staff have been reassigned to help with manually reviewing applications

Emergency crews were called to a three-vehicle crash Monday morning on the old Island Highway close to Rock City Road. (Greg Sakaki/News Bulletin)
Car, pickup and semi truck crash along the highway in Nanaimo

Incident happened in front of Rock City Plaza on Monday morning

Jonathon Muzychka and Dean Reber are wanted on Canada-wide warrants. (Courtesy of Victoria Police Department)
Convicted killer, robber at large after failing to return to facility: Victoria police

Dean Reber, 60, and Jonathon Muzychka, 43, may be together

A woman wearing a protective face mask to curb the spread of COVID-19 walks past a mural in Victoria, B.C., on Monday, Dec. 7, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Marissa Tiel
5 big lessons experts say Canada should learn from COVID-19

‘What should be done to reduce the harms the next time a virus arises?’ Disease control experts answer

Adam Dergazarian, bottom center, pays his respect for Kobe Bryant and his daughter, Gianna, in front of a mural painted by artist Louie Sloe Palsino, Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2021, in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)
Kobe Bryant’s presence remains strong a year after his death

Tuesday marks the grim anniversary of the crash that took their lives

Most Read