Snuneymuxw elect Wyse as new chief

Michael James Wyse Sr. emerged victorious in Saturday election

Michael James Wyse Sr. is the new chief of Snuneymuxw First Nation.

Wyse won the two-way race for chief against incumbent Chief John Wesley by 100 votes in the Snuneymuxw First Nation election Saturday.

Wyse, previously a councillor for the First Nation, received 310 votes, compared to Wesley’s 210.

Councillors elected included Chris Good, Emmy Manson, Erralyn Thomas, Paul Wyse-Seward and Joe White, Jr.

Snuneymuxw First Nation went to the polls Saturday to elect a chief and five, of 10, councillors for a four-year term. Elections are staggered for half the council every two years.

More to come.