Parties choose Nanaimo-Ladysmith federal candidates

NANAIMO – Conservatives, NDP select who will run in next election.

While the November municipal election may be the focus of Nanaimo politicos, candidates for the 2015 Canadian federal election are throwing their hats in the ring as well.

The federal Conservative Party and NDP have announced candidates for the newly formed Nanaimo-Ladysmith riding – Mark MacDonald and Sheila Malcolmson respectively – and their counterparts from the Liberals and Green Party are in the process of doing the same.

According to Shaun Govender, federal Liberal B.C. executive director, the party is currently in the process of vetting candidates. There isn’t a list of candidates nor a date set for a nomination meeting, however there are four serious people going through the process.

“There’s no one available for us right now to publicly comment on that have completed the entire green-lighting process,” said Govender.

“That [nomination meeting] will not be decided until the candidates that have shown interest have completed their paperwork, so it’s dependent upon several factors that are somewhat outside of the control of the party at the moment,” he said.

Kathryn Hazel, Green Party of Canada electoral district association CEO, said her party is actively searching but doesn’t have any candidates yet.

MacDonald was acclaimed as the Conservative candidate and Malcolmson beat out four other candidates for the NDP’s Nanaimo-Ladysmith nomination.

The electoral riding boundaries were re-drawn, with the former Nanaimo-Alberni and Nanaimo-Cowichan ridings replaced by Nanaimo-Ladysmith. The new riding stretches approximately from Lantzville to south of Ladysmith.

Nanaimo-area members of Parliament James Lunney (Conservative) and Jean Crowder (NDP) both announced within the last year they would not seek re-election.

The 42nd Canadian federal election is expected to take place in 2015.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Commute in Nanaimo slowed as SUV goes up onto highway barrier, gets stuck

Accident happened at 5 p.m. on old Island Highway and Highland Boulevard

Seven years later, Nanaimo’s animal trapping bylaw still isn’t approved

Animal trapping bylaw requires provincial approval before it can be adopted

Juno-nominated Nanaimo teen Lauren Spencer-Smith to appear on ‘American Idol’

Singer up for Adult Contemporary Album of the Year for ‘Unplugged, Vol. 1’

Nanaimo Clippers goalie chosen his team’s MVP

Jordan Naylor and teammates honoured at hockey club’s year-end award banquet

New minister leading services at St. Andrew’s in Nanaimo

Rev. Greg Darjes returned this month to the church in the Old City Quarter after 18 years elsewhere

Protecting privacy key to stopping spread of COVID-19, B.C. health officials say

The number of coronavirus cases in B.C. remains at seven

Toffoli scores OT winner as Canucks beat Habs 4-3

Demko makes 37 saves for Vancouver

Private clinics would harm ‘ordinary’ people using public system in B.C.: lawyer

Health Minister Adrian Dix announced in 2018 that the government would begin to fine doctors $10,000

B.C. terminates contract with hospice society refusing assisted death

Delta Hospice Society loses hospital service fund of $1.5 million

Child in hospital following fatal crash that killed father, sibling on B.C. highway

The single vehicle crash occured near Kamloops on Highway 5A

‘Die!’: Vernon councillor mailed death threat

This story contains information that might be sensitive to some readers

Hidden message connects Castlegar homeowners decades apart

The Rodgers family was surprised when a message fell out of the walls as they were renovating

Two B.C. men plead guilty to bus-terminal assault of man with autism in Ontario

Parmvir Chahil and Jaspaul Uppal due to be sentenced in June for aggravated assault

Most Read