(News Bulletin file)

(News Bulletin file)

Nanaimo’s Hemmens to sit on VIRL executive committee

Vancouver Island Regional Library held its AGM Jan. 19 and elected a new board

With high turnover brought about during the recent municipal elections, new representation for Nanaimo and area will sit on the Vancouver Island Regional Library’s board.

The regional library held its annual general meeting on Jan. 19 and Coun. Erin Hemmens of City of Nanaimo council, Vanessa Craig, Regional District of Nanaimo Area B director, and Coun. Jamie Wilson, of District of Lantzville council, were elected to the board, with Hemmens also chosen for the executive committee, according to a press release.

Twenty-eight trustees are serving for the first time or are returning after several years away, the press release said.

Brenda Leigh, representing Strathcona Regional District, was elected as board chairwoman. Mayor Gabriele Wickstrom, from Town of Port McNeill, was elected as vice-chairperson, and both will lead the executive committee.

Vancouver Island Regional Library board of trustees is made up of elected representation from 38 municipal and regional district governments and is responsible for a budget of over $38 million.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter