Nanaimo school board sees seven new trustees elected to office

NANAIMO – Advocates for Save Cedar Schools coalition picked by voters for school board.

The Nanaimo school district board will see high turnover with seven new trustees elected to sit at the table for the next four years.

According to preliminary election results, Stephanie Higginson, Scott Kimler, Jeff Solomon, Steve Rae, Natasha Bob, Tania Brzovic and Noah Routley were voted in as trustees, joined by incumbents Jamie Brennan and Bill Robinson.

The last board approved a 10-year facilities plan, which included the closure of Cedar Community Secondary School, and while Higginson, Kimler and Rae are part of the Save Cedar Schools coalition, Higginson and Rae are not committing to reversing the closure.

Higginson, who received the most votes with 9,545, said the coalition has a strong argument that closure and conversion of the school is not in the best interests of the board, but wants to look at all the information.

“The whole thing I kept hearing through that whole [school closure] process was, ‘This is the best educational and economic decision for our board,’ but no one would back that up. So what I’m really looking forward to is being on the other side of the curtain and getting access to all the information and finding out why the decisions were made the way they were.

“If they truly are the best decisions for the district, then that’s the way things will stay,” said Higginson.

“But we also have to make these decisions with the communities that are being affected by them,” said Higginson.

Rae said he doesn’t want to cancel the plan but would like to suspend it. There are seven new trustees and the board needs to step back and do a thorough evaluation, he said.

“I will say this. If it is the right thing to do, to close that school, I’ll support it but they haven’t proven that to me or any of the other people that I’m aware,” Rae said.

“It would be irresponsible of me to say that I want to go in there and re-open that school because I don’t know if that’s the right thing to do. I know how I felt as [part of] Save Cedar Schools but that’s not my role now. My role is what’s best for the whole district,” he said.

Sharon Welch, Kim Howland, Nancy Curley, TerryLynn Saunders, Dot Neary and Bill Bard were not re-elected.

Results for the 2014 Nanaimo municipal election will become official tomorrow (Nov. 19).

Just Posted

Two Lotto Max tickets sold on Vancouver Island were winners, though nobody won the $70-million jackpot in Tuesday’s draw. (BCLC image)
Lotto Max player in Nanaimo wins $500,000

Campbell River lotto player wins $1 million in the Tuesday, June 15 draw

An artist’s rendering of a proposed student housing complex at 326 Wakesiah Ave. (WA Architects Ltd. image)
Graeme Roberts, who was mayor of Nanaimo from 1984-86, died this month at age 89. (Photo courtesy Nanaimo Community Archives)
City of Nanaimo flags at half-staff as former mayor Graeme Roberts dies at 89

‘Giant-killer’ beat out Frank Ney in mayoral election in 1984

Curl B.C. chairperson Teri Palynchuk is this year’s winner of the Janette Robbins Award for leadership. Palynchuk is pictured here with the Curling Canada Foundation Cup along with past chairperson Peter Muir, left, and Curl B.C. CEO Scott Braley. (Photo courtesy Curl B.C.)
Nanaimo curling exec wins Curl B.C. leadership award

Teri Palynchuk receives Janette Robbins Award

The border crossing on Highway 11 in Abbotsford heading south (file)
VIDEO: Western premiers call for clarity, timelines on international travel, reopening rules

Trudeau has called Thursday meeting, premiers say they expect to leave that meeting with a plan

St. Joseph's Mission site is located about six kilometres from Williams Lake First Nation. (Photo submitted)
Williams Lake First Nation to search residential school site for unmarked graves

St. Joseph’s Mission Indian Residential School operated from 1886 to 1981

Tuesday’s Lotto Max draw went unclaimed. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Tuesday’s Lotto Max draw went unclaimed. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Lotto Max jackpot goes unclaimed again

42 of the 64 Maxmillion prizes of $1 million were won, the majority were sold in Ontario

FILE - This July 6, 2017 file photo shows prescription drugs in a glass flask at the state crime lab in Taylorsville, Utah. (AP Photo/Rick Bowmer, File)
Contaminants in generic drugs may cause long-term harm to DNA: B.C. researcher

Scientist says findings suggest high volume overseas facilities require strict regulation

Restaurant patrons enjoy the weather on a patio in Vancouver, B.C., on April 5, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Labour shortages, closed borders major obstacles to B.C. restaurant, tourism restarts

Industry expert says it won’t start to recover until international travellers can visit

(Black Press Media file)
Dirty money: Canadian currency the most germ-filled in the world, survey suggests

Canadian plastic currency was found to contain 209 bacterial cultures

(pixabay file shot)
B.C. ombudsperson labels youth confinement in jail ‘unsafe,’ calls for changes

Review states a maximum of 22 hours for youth, aged 12 from to 17, to be placed in solitary

Eleonore Alamillo-Laberge, 6, reads a book in Ottawa on Monday, June 12, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Parents will need to fight ‘COVID learning slump’ over summer: B.C. literacy experts

Parents who play an active role in educating their children this summer can reverse the slump by nearly 80%, says Janet Mort

Most Read