(Black Press file photo)

Nanaimo Ladysmith Public School trustees receive school assignments

Each school in the district will have a go-to trustee for the 2018-19 school year

With the new Nanaimo Ladysmith Public Schools’ board of education getting acclimatized, trustees have been given their school assignments for the 2018-19 school year.

Elaine Wilkinson will be responsible for schools in the Ladysmith area – Ladysmith Secondary, Intermediate, Primary and École North Oyster Elementary schools.

Tania Brzovic’s school assignments include Cedar Secondary and Elementary and Cinnabar Valley Elementary schools as well as Island Connect Ed K-12 (distance education), Vocational Adult Secondary Training and the Career Technical Centre.

John Barsby Secondary, Bayview Elementary, Chase River Elementary, Georgia Avenue Community and Park Avenue Elementary schools will be overseen by Bill Robinson.

Jessica Stanley and Stephanie Higginson were both assigned to a zone consisting of Nanaimo District Secondary, Fairview Community and Brechin, Forest Park, Gabriola, Hammond Bay, Mountain View, École Pauline Haarer and École Quarterway elementary schools

Wellington Secondary, Cilaire, Coal Tyee, Rock City and Uplands Park elementary schools and Departure Bay Eco-School will be in Greg Keller’s purview.

Chantel O’Neill’s assignment will see schools in the north Nanaimo area, with Dover Bay Secondary, Frank J. Ney, McGirr, Pleasant Valley, Randerson Ridge and Seaview elementary schools, as well as the International Student Education program.

Charlene McKay and Lisa Marie Barron were not assigned schools as they are respective board chairwoman and vice-chairwoman and will have added responsibilities.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Just Posted

UPDATE: Northbound lanes re-open along Malahat after small rockslide near Goldstream

Drivers asked to use caution, clean-up crews have finished on-site

Kris Kringle Craft Market making its return to Nanaimo

Self-taught craftspeople join trained artisans at seasonal sale Nov. 21-24 at Beban Park

Idea of free student bus passes will come to Regional District of Nanaimo board table

Tyler Brown, RDN transit committee chairman, hopes to explore fully subsidized bus passes for youths

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Neighbourhood around supportive housing disrespected

Supreme Court’s ruling a mean-spirited example of establishment versus the people, says letter writer

Nanaimo school district starting from scratch on testing water for lead

Health Canada changed acceptable levels to 0.005 mg/L in March, prompting re-testing at schools

Abortions rights advocates urge Liberals to turn politics into policy

Conservative Leader Andrew Scheer was pressed to clarify his stance abortion over several weeks

Rowing Canada, UVic investigate celebrated coach for harassment, abuse

Lily Copeland says she felt intimidated and trapped by Williams

Cleanup in the works after tanker truck fire leads to oil spill in B.C.’s Peace region

The province said the majority of the spilled oil likely burned away in the fire.

Fisherman missing near Lake Cowichan’s Shaw Creek

Family is asking for everyone and anyone to keep their eyes open,… Continue reading

BC VIEWS: Action needed on healthcare workplace violence

While we’ve been talking about it, the number of B.C. victims has only grown

Closing arguments begin in B.C. case launched in 2009 over private health care

Dr. Day said he illegally opened the Cambie Surgery Centre in 1996 in order to create more operating-room time

MacLean says “Coach’s Corner is no more” following Cherry’s dismissal from Hockey Night

Cherry had singled out new immigrants in for not honouring Canada’s veterans and fallen soldiers

MacKinnon powers Avs to 5-4 OT win over Canucks

Vancouver battled back late to pick up single point

Poole’s Land finale: Tofino’s legendary ‘hippie commune’ being dismantled

Series of land-use fines inspire owner Michael Poole to sell the roughly 20-acre property.

Most Read