The local government election is Oct. 15. (Stock photo)

The local government election is Oct. 15. (Stock photo)

ELECTION 2022: Candidates in Nanaimo, Lantzville, RDN and SD68

Candidates begin announcing campaigns for city council and school board

The City of Nanaimo, the District of Lantzville, the Regional District of Nanaimo and Nanaimo Ladysmith Public Schools will have refreshed leadership this fall with election day coming up Oct. 15.

Candidates were officially declared Friday, Sept. 9.

Anyone running for mayor or councillor in Nanaimo or Lantzville, regional director in the RDN’s Area A, B, C or E, or school trustee in School District 68 is asked to contact the Nanaimo News Bulletin to set up an interview or invite us to a campaign launch event. Phone 250-734-4621 or e-mail

City of Nanaimo mayoral candidates:

Tasha Brown

Brunie Brunie

Leonard Krog (incumbent)

Agnes Provost

City of Nanaimo council candidates:

Jeff Annesley

Sheryl Armstrong (incumbent)

Ken Bennett

Don Bonner (incumbent)

Tyler Brown (incumbent)

Paul Chapman

Hilary Eastmure

Ben Geselbracht (incumbent)

Nick Greer

Derek Hanna

Mike Hartlaub

Erin Hemmens (incumbent)

Jay Krishan

Gary Korpan

Shirley Lambrecht

Peter Lee

Alan Macdonald

Zeni Maartman (incumbent)

Paul Manly

Janice Perrino

Frank Pluta

Peter Poole

Michael Ribicic

Norm Smith

Robb Squire

Viraat BK Thammanna

Ian Thorpe (incumbent)

Corey Trinkwon

David Wang

District of Lantzville mayoral candidates:

Mark Swain (incumbent)

Stan Pottie

District of Lantzville council candidates:

John Dunn

Joan Jones

Jonathan Lerner

Shandra Mayes

Rachelle Mundell

Ian Savage (incumbent)

Karl Wiese

Nanaimo Ladysmith Public Schools trustee candidates:

Naomi Bailey (incumbent)

Tania Brzovic (incumbent)

Andrew Gasson

Greg Keller (incumbent)

Leanne Lee

Charlene McKay (incumbent)

Chantelle Morvay

Leana Pellegrin

Bill Robinson (incumbent)

Mark Robinson

Tom Rokeby

Tanner Scott

Regional District of Nanaimo Area A director candidates:

Carl Delcourt

Kate Poirier

Jessica Stanley

Keith Wilson (incumbent)

Regional District of Nanaimo Area B director candidates:

Vanessa Craig (incumbent)

Regional District of Nanaimo Area C director candidates:

Mark MacDonald

Lauren Melanson

Charles Pinker (incumbent)

Dean Toma

Susan Toth

Regional District of Nanaimo Area E director candidates:

Bob Rogers (incumbent)

READ ALSO: Nanaimo city council candidates debate doughnut economy, environment

RELATED: Nominations open for city council, regional board and school board candidates

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Breaking NewsElection 2022