Arts students earn awards

Seven students received education bursaries from Nanaimo Arts Council’s achievement awards program.

Sharing in $4,000 are Kiana Smith and Brittany Barraclough for dance; Jessica Law for music; Emily Bourke and Vanessa Young for visual art; Kaylin Godin for photography; and Sarah McKelvey for theatre.

Students are selected on the basis of talent, achievement to date, potential, long-range goals, financial need and benefit to the community.

Awards will be presented June 9, 7-9 p.m., at the arts council gallery in Nanaimo North Town Centre. For more information, please visit