Nanaimo students awarded entrance scholarships

NANAIMO – Vancouver Island University students recognized at president’s reception.

Four Nanaimo students were among other Vancouver Island University scholarship recipients recognized Wednesday at a president’s reception.

Carly Breault (Nanaimo Christian School), Jenelle Lepage (Nanaimo District Secondary School) and Scott Jensen (Woodlands Secondary School) all received President’s Entrance Scholarships for being the top academic students at their respective high schools. Emily Johnston (Dover Bay Secondary School) received a VIU Chancellor’s Award Scholarship for Aboriginal students.

The President’s Scholarship program was created in 2008 when VIU became a full university to encourage top scholars to complete their undergraduate degrees at the institution. Entrance scholarships are awarded annually to the top academic student in each public high school on the Island and in Powell River and up to six scholarships for Aboriginal students, both recent graduates and mature students.

The university also gives up to eight annual scholarships for athletes and the top student in each academic faculty at VIU also receive scholarships if they continue at the university into their third year.