Finalists named for Sterling awards

The who’s who of Nanaimo area businesses gathers for an annual pat on the back May 13.

The 12th annual Greater Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce’s Sterling  Business Awards takes place in the Mount Benson ballroom at the Vancouver Island Conference Centre, recognizing excellence in business and customer service in the community

Award finalists include:

Business leader

Russ Burke – Canadian Western Bank, Nanaimo branch

Dave Hammond – ReMax of Nanaimo

Patrick Ross – Patrick Ross Consulting


Community spirit

Mazzei Electric


Turley’s Florist


Customer service, individual

Scotia Mangles – BCAA.

Rene Gutierrez – Popeye’s Supplements Nanaimo.

Todd Sanderson – Coast Realty Group


Economic development

SupErb Construction Ltd.

Tectonica Management Inc.

Waterfront Holdings Ltd.


Environmental sustainability

Compassion Farm

Steve Marshall Ford Lincoln Ltd.

Piper’s Meat Cleaver Ltd.


Junior citizen

Jordyn Hrenyk – Wellington Secondary School

Dilbir Kaur Parmar, – Nanaimo District Secondary School

Emma Seward – Woodlands Secondary School


Corporate marketing

Sportsbarbers Inc.

City of Nanaimo

English Entertainment


New business

Bobbie Buckle – Elite Gaming Entertainment

Judith Chinn – JAC Geo Designs

Jason Hare – Pure Chiropractic


Non-profit organization

Nanaimo and Area Land Trust

Nanaimo and District Hospital Foundation

Vancouver Island Exhibition


Service excellence

Tru Spa Institute of Aesthetics

Life Labs, Wellington Branch

Tigh-Na-Mara Seaside Spa Resort and Conference Centre


Young entrepreneur

Stephanie Fuller – “The Wave” at Dover Bay Secondary School

Marcela Leus – Mama’s Retreat

Andre Sullivan – Young Professionals of Nanaimo.

The award ceremony begins at 7 p.m. For more information, please call the chamber at 250-756-1191 or go to