Curlers reach winners' circle

Continuing a summary of year-end local curling honours, the spotlight turns to the ladies this week. My thanks to Nanaimo Ladies’ division secretary-treasurer Jessie Whittam for passing along information about top ladies’ teams that were recognized at a recent awards night…

For the Monday Night ladies’ league, competition was divided into three sections during this past year. From the first section, A square winners were skip Joanne Phillips and her team of Shirley Sloan, Karen Hungar and Susan Barber. First in B square for that part of the season came the team of Rhonda Stoner, Darah Provencal, Toni Lepore and Gertie Pick.

From the middle portion of the season, the Stoner foursome claimed top honours in A square competition, while winners of the B square were Leslie Shearer, Tracey Mousseau, Tanis Wilson and Brenda Sillito.

The third portion of the season saw a repeat win for the Stoner foursome as A square champions. Claiming the win in B square was the entry consisting of Colleen World, Kesa Van Osch, Cindy Van Osch and Dallyce Gillespie.

Still with the Monday Night league, the overall aggregate winners based on points during the entire season was again skip Rhonda Stoner and her teammates Darah Provencal, Toni Lepore and Gertie Pick. For their efforts, the team was awarded the Able Trophy. Taking home the P&P Plumbing Trophy was the rink skipped by Dianne Smith, consisting of teammates Darcy Dreger, Laurie Grobowsky, Terri Harper and Teri Palynchuk.

Turning to the Tuesday Ladies’ Business League, the Carle-Thiesson Shield as overall winners on the year went to the family team comprised of Kesa Van Osch, Kalia Van Osch, Marika Van Osch and Cindy Van Osch. The Baker Supply Trophy was presented to skip Darcy Dreger and her teammates Eleanor Voysey, Patty Pedersen and Sandy Wilkinson. The Dreger foursome was the league round-robin winner, with the runners-up being the Van Osch squad.

In the year-end bonspiel, first place went to the team skip Ruth Thorpe, third Carol Ramey, second Pat Wardrop and lead Naomi Adams. Placing second was the rink comprised of Roberta Morris, Marion Huck, Barb Dysart and Sharon Wright.

Awards from the Ladies’ Wednesday Classified League included presentation of the B.C. Painting Trophy to Yvonne Anderson, Kirsten Funk-Robinson, Karen Sprott and Bev Mason-Wood. Winners of the J&L Russell Trophy were skip Sandra Ostle and her team of Joanne West, Ellis Richer and Suzanne Sirk.

Yvonne Anderson and her team topped the standings for the first half of the season, while the Ostle foursome was tops during the second half of play. Runners-up in the first half were Brenda Chaplin and her teammates Ellis Richer, Susan Morgan and Sue Ward. Second-half runners-up were skip Dallyce Gillespie’s team of Ava Whitney-Coulter, Mikyla Anderson and Bethany Booth.

Another successful group this past season was the Ladies’ Thursday Afternoon league, where winners of the first square were skip Dianne Smith and her teammates Diana Johnstone, Eleanor Voysey, Diana Baker and Heather Dellebuur. Sally Noonan skipped her team of Jill McGlenen, Sharon Luttrell and Shirley Cookman to capture second square honours.

The overall round-round aggregate winner of the league received the Thrifty Foods Trophy and this award went to skip Shirley Sloan, third Karen Hungar, second Roberta Morris and lead Marion Huck. Aggregate runner-up from the Thursday league was skip Marg Obee, third Noreen Martin, second Moyra Graham and lead Inga Brunton. For their efforts, the Obee foursome received the Island Timberlands Trophy.

At the conclusion of league play, ladies’ club championship playoffs were held, sponsored by Jessie Whittam and also Five Star Embroidery. Eight of the top teams from the various leagues were involved in the double knockout format, featuring rinks skipped by Rhonda Stoner, Marg Obee, Darcy Dreger, Susan Chepil, Dianne Smith, Dallyce Gillespie, Shirley Sloan and Kesa Van Osch.

The competition came down to an entertaining final between the Stoner and Van Osch teams. After Van Osch had jumped out to a 5-0 lead after three ends, Stoner fought back to tie the game at 5-5 after six. Van Osch, however, responded right away by getting three more points in the seventh end and ran Stoner out of rocks in the final frame to come away with an 8-5 victory. So the ladies’ club championship team for the 2010-11 season was that of Kesa Van Osch, Kalia Van Osch, Marika Van Osch and Cindy Van Osch. Runners-up were Rhonda Stoner, Darah Provencal, Toni Lepore and Gertie Pick.

Whatever your sport, a reminder in closing to play your hardest, play fair, and show good sportsmanship.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event