Snuneymuxw choose new chief to lead

John Wesley has been named the new chief of the Snuneymuxw First Nation after winning the election race by a narrow margin Saturday.

Wesley – the only challenger to Douglas White III and a former chief – triumphed by a 13-vote lead in the Snuneymuxw election.

A total 499 votes were cast for the office of the chief during the election race. Wesley got 253 of the ballots. White followed up with 240.

In a statement to the press, White, who was seeking a second term, congratulated the new chief and all the other council members elected.

“While personally I feel some disappointment I am proud of all the accomplishments our council achieved over the last four years,” he said.

“In the next four years I look forward to seeing our nation continue to march on the path towards increased prosperity, health and well-being, and happiness for each and every one of our people.”

Wesley was unavailable for comment before press time Monday.

The elections are staggered, with half the council being voted in every two years. This round, incumbent councillors James Seward, Michael Wyse, Paul Wyse-Seward and William Yoachim beat contenders to take back their seats.

Erralyn Thomas won her first term with one of the highest vote counts at 241.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, April 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Apr 15 edition online now. Browse the archives.