Board members named to NEDC

Nanaimo city council made the first steps to replace Progress Nanaimo for appointing Nanaimo Economic Development Corporation board members Monday.

Last year, nominations were made through an ad hoc committee of Progress Nanaimo. The new policy will consist of two city councillors, one representative from the Regional District of Nanaimo and two community members.

Councillors Fred Pattje and Diana Johnstone, both of whom were previously on Progress Nanaimo, and RDN director Howard Houle, were appointed to sit on the new committee. Two community members will be appointed at a later date.

NEDC board members will be recommended to council, which will then consider the recommendations. If satisfied with the performance of current NEDC board members, council will only have to consider approving changes to one-third of the board to allow for continuity.

NEDC handles the city's economic development and tourism mandates.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Nanaimo council candidate: Leon Cake
Nanaimo mayoral candidate: Bill McKay
Greater Victoria cross-country skier medals at B.C. race
Preview: Canucks Young Stars Classic kicks off in Penticton
Bulldogs bolster blueline with trade
Coaching vet pens baseball tome
Much support on and off the gridiron
DCS girls push to the limit in Cedar volleyball tournament
DCS ties for 11th after many close volleyball matches in Surrey

Community Events, October 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 30 edition online now. Browse the archives.